This is the "General" page of the "FBE Template" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FBE Template  

Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/FBE-template Print Guide RSS Updates

General Print Page
  Search: 
 

About this guide

Welcome to the FBE LibGuide!

This guide provides you with links to websites and electronic resources that may be helpful to your research. Click on one of the tabs above to find information about different areas relating to the FBE.

We also have other information on:

Specialist PCs

Bloomberg and Datastream can be accessed on the specialist PCs at Library Level 2.

Please ask at Information Desk or phone 98507500 or 1800 300 753 for further information and bookings. First time users should contact a Research Librarian to organise training. 

Access is only available to Macquarie postgraduate students and staff. 

Peer reviewed (or Refereed) status

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field. These academics or experts may recommend that the paper be accepted as it stands, or that specific revisions be made, or that the paper be rejected for publication. This process of refereeing is known as peer review.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed?

1. Use Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory 

  1. Select the Databases tab in MultiSearch.
  2. Type the name of the database 'Ulrichsin the search box and click Search.
  3. Use the links under View Online to access the database.
  4. In Ulrich, enter a Journal Title, ISSN, or search term to find journals or other periodicals.
  5. Refereed journals are marked with an icon Referee shirt icon which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

2. Use MultiSearch & Databases facilities

MultiSearch and many databases allow you to limit your search results or indicate if an article is from a 'Peer-reviewed', 'Scholarly' or 'Refereed' journal. You can either select those options before searching or from the results screen. However they are not 100% correct.

3. Review the journal's homepage

A journal's homepage will generally contain information about the scope or aims of the journal, its editorial board or instructions to authors that may indicate whether or not articles are reviewed before they are printed. 
You can locate the journal's home page via Ulrichs. Once you have found the journal you are looking for click on the journal title for additional details and then click on the hypertext link at the URL field.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. 

  • Click the Search Google Scholar @MQ link on the MQ Library homepage to access Google Scholar 

Google Scholar in MQ home page

  • Click the downward arrow to access the Advanced Scholar Search

google scholar downward arrow

  • Think about phrases and words relating to your search which will provide results that are relevant. You will probably have to try a variety of different combinations of key words and/or phrases.

Google Scholar advanced search

  • Results are ordered by relevance. You can also create an alert for this search using the Create alert link. Click on Find it@MQ to find full text via databases MQ Library subscribes to.

Where is the Find it@MQ

  • Click on Find it@MQ will bring you back to the Library MultiSearch. Click on View Online and the Link to the database to bring up the article.
  • Google Scholar does not identify peer reviewed/refereed journal articles with the results it provides. You need to check if an item is refereed/peer reviewed.using:
 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the Information Desk in the Library
Research Librarians provide research consultations for Honours, Postgraduate and HDR students 
 

ABDC Journal Quality List 2013

Student Off Campus Access and Help

Username: Student number

Password: OneID Password

If you are having problems logging in or experiencing other IT difficulties please contact 

 

InfoWise

Want to learn more about database searching, referencing and other research related skills? Infowise can help.

Infowise homepage

InfoWise is the library’s online research and information literacy support tool. Students and staff can self enrol and get support anywhere anytime.

InfoWise aims to build and improve students research skills. Especially useful for undergraduates, international students and anyone new to Macquarie University, the content covers:

  • how to use MultiSearch
  • understanding peer review
  • how to decode citations
  • identifying key search terms
  • advanced search techniques
  • and more
 

StudyWISE

StudyWise

StudyWISE is an iLearn resource created by Learning Skills, which is specifically designed to help you to:

  • Manage your studies
  • Strengthen your study techniques
  • Write effective assignments
  • Improve your English language proficiency.

You can sign up here.

 

CURF & Tablebuilder contact officers

Phanh Oudomlith Sean Bullock
     
Email Email
 

Multisearch

multiple sources, single search
?

 

Search Unit Readings

MultiSearch 



 

Search Past exam papers

MultiSearch 


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip