MultiSearch Advanced - RETIRED 2017

You can find a specific article by searching for its title in the Simple Search box.

For example: Robinson, Leah E. (2012). Teaching Practices that Promote Motor Skills in Early Childhood Settings. Early childhood education journal, Vol.40(2), pp.79 - 86.

1. Select the Books, articles & more tab.
2. Type the article title into the search box. Place the double quotation marks both at the beginning and the end of the title to search for the title as a phrase.
3. Click Search.
4. Click on View Online to access the full text of the article.
5. Click on one of the links to the database platform.
   
6. Look for PDF full text icon to download the full text article.

 If you can't find an article by searching for its title try searching for the journal name. See the Journals page to learn how.

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field. These academics or experts may recommend that the paper be accepted as it stands, or that specific revisions be made, or that the paper be rejected for publication. This process of refereeing is known as peer review.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed.

You can check if an article is from a peer reviewed journal using Ulrich's international periodicals directory.  Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/ refereed.

MultiSearch and specific databases often allow you to search for peer reviewed journal articles however they are not always accurate.

You should always use Ulrichs to check a journal's peer reviewed status as it is the most reliable source for this information.

Using Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

1. Use the Databases tab of MultiSearch.
2. Type the name of the database Ulrich's in the Simple Search box and click Search. 
3. Use the links under View Online to access the database.

Refereed items are marked with an icon  which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

To find Peer-reviewed journals:

1. Use Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory 

1. Select the Databases tab.
2. Type the name of the database 'Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory' in the search box and click Search.
3. Use the links under View Online to access the database.
4. In Ulrich's, enter a Journal Title, ISSN, or other search term to find journals or other periodicals.
5. Refereed journals are marked with an icon  which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

2. Use MultiSearch & Databases facilities

MultiSearch and many databases allow you to limit your search results or indicate if an article is from a "Peer-reviewed" , "Scholarly" or "Refereed" journal. You can either select those options before searching or from the results screen.

In MultiSearch click on Peer-reviewed Journals under the Show only filter on the left hand side of the results list to limit your result.

OR

3. Review the journal's homepage

A journal's homepage will generally contain information about the scope or aims of the journal, its editorial board or instructions to authors that may indicate whether or not articles are reviewed before they are printed.
You can locate the journal's home page via Ulrich's. Once you have found the journal you are looking for click on the journal title for additional details and then click on the hypertext link at the URL field.