Ancient EgyptAncient GreeceAncient RomeClassical languages and literatures
This is the "Home" page of the "History - Ancient" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History - Ancient  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/ancient-history Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related LibGuides

 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the information desk in the Library
Research Librarians provide research consultations for Honours, Postgraduate and HDR students 

Spotlight on...

  • Loeb Classical Library
    The digital Loeb Classical Library is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.

Research databases

Finding scholarly articles;

L'Année philologique (online)

A major bibliography for all aspects of Greek and Roman civilization (classical studies) indexes a wide range of periodicals, plus newly published books on Greek and Roman literature, history and culture from prehistory to 800 C.E.

A comprehensive list of journal abbreviations for full journal title is available here.

Brill online books and journals

Provides a wide range of Brill e-books and journals with many subjects related to Ancient History.

International medieval bibliography

Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 450 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers.

Online Egyptological Bibliography OEB

A bibliographic database of academic literature on ancient Egypt.

Finding Latin and Greek works;

Thesaurus linguae Graecae (online)

A digital library of Greek literature going back to Homer and includes the New Testament, Septuagint, and church fathers.  It allows one to browse and read ancient Greek texts and also to search for texts where specific words are used.  As such it will be very helpful for NT Greek word study assignments and is often required for such.

Library of Latin texts - series A (online)

Contains works from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Included are the main works of Thomas Aquinas and certain Latin works of Descartes.

NB - to use this website please use Mozilla Firefox as this browser allows you to open the resources properly.

Patrologia Latina (online)

Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.

Reference works

Brill's companions in classical studies online I

A leading series of handbooks providing graduate-level synthesis of debate and the state of scholarship on key authors and subjects from Antiquity. Topics covered range from Homer to Ovid, and from Aegean Greece in the fourth century BC to Flavian Rome, are excellent starting points for teaching as well as research.

Brill's New Pauly

The most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world consisting of Antiquity (devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than 2000 years of history, from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe) and Classical tradition (uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship).

Cambridge histories online

A unique historical reference compendium which provides access to the full text of the Cambridge Histories series.

Supplementum epigraphicum graecum

An important source of reference for researchers in classical archaeology, history of classical art and architecture, ancient history, Greek literature and ancient religion.

Translated texts for historians e-library

Makes available historical sources from 300-800 AD translated into English in many cases for the first time.  Types of writing include histories, chronicles, letters, annals, formularies, compendia, political speeches, military and theological handbooks, poems, documentary sources, records of church councils, biblical and theological commentaries, sermons, church histories, Christian treatises, Christian and pagan panegyric and polemic, Neoplatonic texts, lives of saints, bishops and popes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip