Biology eBooks & eRefBiodiversity & ConservationHuman Biology & Medical ScienceMarine Biology
Biology in generalBiodiversity & ConservationHuman Biology & Medical ScienceMarine Biology
1) Define your topic2) Think about your topic3) Find background info4) Prepare to research5) Find books & articles6) Write your assignment
Biology in generalBiodiversity & Conservation GemsHuman Bio & Med Science GemsMarine Bio Gems
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biological Sciences   Tags: biological sciences, biology, biology careers advice  

A one-stop-shop of recommended databases, e-journals, eBooks, & other online resources & services for finding scholarly literature for your assignments & research.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/biological-sciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Harvard referencing for Biology at Macquarie University

 

BIOL116 Library Challenge

 

Featured free apps

Biology Sample Collector - track and document your field work incorporating images, video, audio recordings, and/or text Cell Imaging HD - find fluorescent dyes, reagents and protocols for cell biology related fluorescence microscopy applications
Link to Google play View in iTunesLink to Google play
iNaturalist app - record & share your observations from the natural world Google Earth app
View in iTunesLink to Google play View in iTunesLink to Google play

More in Web Gems!

Recommended readings

Your lecturer may have suggested a few!

  1. Go to MultiSearch - Unit Readings tab.

  2. Search by unit code e.g. BIOL261.

  3. Access any recommended articles, chapters, books, past exams etc.
 

Library news & videos

Facebook logo
Twitter logo YouTube logo

Popular databases for articles

'PLoS Biology 7(4) 2009' journal cover, by PLoS, under a CC BY-2.5 licence, from commons.wikimedia.org 

PLoS Biology 7(4) 2009 journal cover, by PLoS, under a CC BY-2.5 Licence

  • BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science)  
      
    Cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, & discoveries of new organisms.
    Coverage: Some full-text via linking to publisher. 1926+
  • Scopus  
      
    Search the largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Has > 4,300 titles in the Life Sciences and > 6,800 titles in the Health Sciences.
    Coverage: References: 1996+ Abstracts go back further. Selective full-text via Article Linker.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Search simply or sophisticatedly on this leading full-text scientific database, offering more than 11 million journal articles / chapters, covering the life, medical, technical, & physical sciences.
    Coverage: Selective full-text.
  • Biological Sciences (ProQuest)
    Find abstracts & citations to research areas in aquatic sciences, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology & ecology, and some aspects of agriculture & veterinary science.
    Coverage: Selective full-text available through Article Linker. 1982+
  • BioOne.1
    Search literature on the biological, ecological & environmental sciences.
    Coverage: Full-text of high-impact bioscience research journals.
  • Annual Reviews
    Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews, with broadest coverage in the biological & physical sciences.
    Coverage: Full-text access for all articles from vol. 1 of subscribed titles.
  • GoogleScholar@MQ  
      
    Connect the results to the full-text! If we have the full-text, you can link to it:
    Settings > 'Library Links' (left hand column) > Search for Macquarie University Library.
 

Multisearch

multiple sources, single search
?

 

Find that article

Example: You want:

Barry, K. L. & S. M. Wilder. 2013. Macronutrient intake affects reproduction of a predatory insect. Oikos 122:1058-1064.

  1. Go to Multisearch.
     
  2. Search for the article. Use inverted commas to keep the title together i.e. "Macronutrient intake affects reproduction of a predatory insect".
     
  3. Link to the article, or find it in our print collection*.

No full-text? Postgrad + can request via Interlibrary loans.

* Distance Ed. students: Delivery Service.

 

Featured Resource - Browzine

BrowZine is a publisher-neutral reading and discovery platform

Access it from your mobile device or from the web at browzine.com.

Browzine logo BrowZine in iTunes Browzine in Google Play

There are iPad, iPhone and Android apps which allows you to browse many of the Library's subscribed e-journal contents.

BrowZine provides a uniform way of reading, storing, citing and sharing articles. With BrowZine, you can: browse journals by subject, review tables of contents, and download full articles; use the durable linking capability of BrowZine.com to easily link to specific “shelves” of content; add journals to your personal bookshelf and be notified when new articles are published; save articles for off-line reading or export to services such as DropBox, Mendeley, RefWorks, Zotero, Papers and more.

Be Inspired with BrowZine from Third Iron on Vimeo.

 

Carmi Cronje

Carmi Cronje

carmi.cronje@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 6519

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Fiona Jones

Fiona Jones

fiona.jones@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 4362

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Jo Hardy

Jo Hardy

jo.hardy@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 7535

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip