Skip to main content

Tracking Your Research

Scopus Author ID, ResearcherID & Google Scholar Profile

Scopus distinguishes between authors with similar names by giving each author a separate Scopus Author ID and grouping together all the documents written by that author. You will be automatically assigned a Scopus Author ID when you publish in a journal indexed by Scopus.

Having a Scopus Author ID allows you to easily see a list of publications for an author and view citation metrics such as h-index measures, citation counts, publications and co-authors.

Your publications on Scopus may be spread over a number of different Author profiles, because these are generated automatically. You can integrate your publications into one Scopus author profile by linking your profile to ORCID by following these instructions.

What is ID used for? Tracks citation metrics, author h-index, CiteScore metrics 

How is it different from other identifiers? Pertains to content indexed on Scopus

ID set up: Automatically generated by Scopus 

Other databases using the identifier? SciVal, PURE, ORCID

Bibilographic export? Yes 

ResearcherID is an initiative of Clarivate Analytics, the producers of Web of Science. It assigns a unique identifier to each author who registers on their site. It allows you to view author's publications and their citation metrics. Analysis includes average citation per article and the h-index value.

If you have articles which are available in Web of Science, you can add them to your ResearcherID profile. You can include your ResearcherID on your webpage to link back to your ResearcherID profile containing your publications.

What is ID used for? The identifier used by Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics formally Thomson Reuters)

How is it different from other identifiers? Tracks citation metrics: times cited, average citations per article, h-index

ID set up: Account can be set up via Web of Science or ResearcherID page 

Other databases using the identifier? PURE, ORCID

Bibilographic export? Yes

Google Scholar @MQ allows researchers to create a profile. It can be used to search for citations

What is ID used for? Tracks citation metrics in Google Scholar: Times Cited, journal and author h-index

ID set up: Create free personal account 

Other databases using the identifier? ORCID is optional 

Bibilographic export? Yes 

How to create your Google Scholar profile: 

1. Go to Google ScholarSign in with your Google account or create account. You can use your MQ email if you do not want to use or create a Gmail account, however if you do do this you may lose access to the profile if you leave MQ and no longer have access to your MQ email account.

2. Click 'My profile'. Enter your details. Use your MQ email so your affiliation can be verified. Click 'Next'.

​​3. Google will list articles that match your name. Review the list and select the articles that are yours.  There may be a number of result pages to look through. 

4. Checking  'Apply updates automatically' lets Google Scholar capture your publications as they become available in the search engine. You can add and remove items from your profile at any time.

5. Check 'Make my profile public' to make your profile is visible.

6. Click 'Done'.

7. Reply to the Google Scholar email you receive to verify your affiliation.

8. You can add a photo to your profile by clicking the camera icon and link to co-author profiles by choosing EDIT.

9. To edit your profile details click on the crayon icon or the review link to can change your name, institution and email details.

10. To delete publications that have been added to your profile by mistake, check the box to the left of the publication and click on the Delete button that appears at the top of the list.

11. To add any of your publications that don't appear in your list, you manually add them by selecting "Add" from the "Actions" drop-down menu

Loading ...

Open author profile tools & collaborative platforms

ResearchGate was founded in 2008 by physicians Dr. Ijad Madisch and Dr. Sören Hofmayer, and computer scientist Horst Fickenscher, ResearchGate today has more than 13+ million members. 

  • connect and collaborate with colleagues, peers, co-authors, and specialists in your field
  • get stats and find out who's been reading and citing your work
  • share your publications, access millions more,and publish your data

What is ID used for? Reader statistics, job post

ID set up:  Free account to submit paper, Google sign up, Facebook sign up

How is it different from other identifiers? Exists in research network/Social network

Bibilographic export? No

Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers. The company's mission is to accelerate the world's research.

Academics use Academia.edu to share their research, monitor deep analytics around the impact of their research, and track the research of academics they follow. Over 53 million academics have signed up to Academia.edu, adding 18 million papers. Academia.edu attracts over 36 million unique visitors a month.

What is ID used for? Does not track citation metrics, however it is widely used as a unique researcher identifier. It is used in PURE profiles

How is it different from other identifiers? Tracks information about research funding, research organisations, publishing, University repositories

Other databases using the identifier? PURE, Google Scholar optional and Researcher ID

Bibilographic export? No

Create your research profile and include a curated list of your publications and affiliations. Mendeley makes it easy to promote your work to one of the world's largest scientific communities.

What is ID used for? Reader statistics and times cited

How is it different from other identifiers? Bibliographic manager, displays research networks.and can be used for   networking and career promotion

ID set up: recommend via institutional access

Other databases using the identifier? PURE, Altmetric Explorer 

Bibilographic export? Yes 

What is ID used for? To share and promote in real time 

ID set up: Free account set up, ORCID can be added

How is it different from other identifiers? Social network

Other databases using the identifier? Altmetric explorer for Institutions, Scopus 

Bibilographic export? No

SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks

What is ID used for? Paper statistics: downloads, rank and abstract views

ID set up: Free account to submit working papers 

How is it different from other identifiers?  Exists in a research network

Bibilographic export? Yes

Loading ...

Which metric should I use for my discipline?