Find more articlesFind chemical data / datasets
ChemistryBiomolecular Sciences
1) Define your topic2) Think about your topic3) Find background info4) Prepare to research5) Find books & articles6) Write your assignment
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences (CBMS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences (CBMS)   Tags: biomolecular sciences, chemistry, chemistry & biomolecular sciences careers advice, patents, standards  

A one-stop-shop of recommended databases for finding literature & chemical data, e-journals, eBooks, and services for finding scholarly information for your assignments & research.
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/cbms Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended readings

Your lecturer may have supplied a list of required readings. To find them:

  1. Go to MultiSearch - Unit Readings.
  2. Search by unit code e.g. CBMS101.
  3. Get your items!
 

MultiSearch


?

Register your discipline to improve results!

Sign in > MyLibrary > Personal Settings >  Personalize Your Results -  Edit > Ok

 

Featured free apps

ReactionFlash app - Learn Named Reactions, understand mechanisms, see examples from Reaxys®  Chemistry by Design app - interactive virtual flashcard that allows you to test your skills using known synthetic sequences
View in iTunes View in iTunesLink to Google play

Promega app - reference info & tools for key topics in molecular & cell biology.

 Molprime app - chemical structure drawing tool based on the unique sketcher from the Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS)
View Promega app in iTunesGet Promega app on Google play View in iTunesLink to Google play

  More in Web Gems!

Popular databases for CBMS articles

  • SciFinder
    Search in all areas of chemistry, biomedicine, and many other scientific areas. Data is retrieved from CAS databases as well as MEDLINE.
    First-time registration required

  • Reaxys
    Access journal & patent literature in the fields of organic, organometallic & inorganic chemistry. Search by reaction, substance and/or numeric property data. Reaxys combines data from the Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry databases.
  • American Chemical Society (ACS)
    Browse or search ACS journals & magazines.
    Coverage: Full-text varies according to source.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC Publishing)
    Search or browse this database of current RSC chemistry journals.
  • Scopus  
      
    Search abstracts & citations over 18,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical & social science fields.
    Coverage: References: 1996+ Abstracts go back further. Selective full-text.
  • ProQuest SciTech Collection
    Search across full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
    Coverage: Full-text for subscribed journals.
  • PubMed
    Search biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: Selective full-text via linking to PubMed Central & publisher websites.
  • ScienceDirect
    Search simply or sophisticatedly on this leading full-text scientific database, offering more than 11 million journal articles / chapters.
    Coverage: Mainly full-text.
  • Springer Protocols
    Search reproducible lab protocols in the life & biomedical sciences. Access time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab.
    Coverage: Selective full-text. Around 30 years worth.
  • Web of Science (WOS)  
      
    For researchers, administrators, faculty, & students to access the world's leading citation databases in scientific research.
    Coverage: Some full-text.
  • More databases...  
      
 

Journal Spotlight

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) publishes several journals which are relevant to CBMS:

Journal of Biological Chemistry

Journal of Lipid Research

Molecular and Cellular Proteomics

They are all highly-ranked journals in the field, based on Impact Factor, so they are worth taking a look at.

 

SciFinder Intro

 

How to search literature in Reaxys

More guides and tutorials from Reaxys.

 

Fiona Jones

Fiona Jones

fiona.jones@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 4362

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Carmi Cronje

Carmi Cronje

carmi.cronje@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 6519

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Jo Hardy

Jo Hardy

jo.hardy@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 7535

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Ask a Librarian

 

Library news & videos

Facebook logo
Twitter logo YouTube logo
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip