Skip to main content

Clinical Medicine

About this guide

 Macquarie University Private Hospital

Welcome to the Library's Clinical Medicine Research Guide. This guide provides you with links to websites and electronic resources that will be helpful for your research, study and clinical work.

Featured Resources

CardioSource Plus, an online cardiovascular information and educational resource including clinical images, self-assessment educational materials, Heart Songs, ACC clinical guidelines and quality standards, and news and expert commentaries.

CardioSource Plus includes access to EchoSAP 7. 

New England Journal of Medicine Journal Watch

NEJM JournalWatch provides access to important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties including cardiology, emergency medicine, gastroenterology, general medicine, HIV/AIDS, hospital medicine, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and hematology, pediatrics and adolescent medicine, psychiatry, and women's health.

 

StatDx

STATdx is an online reference tool providing diagnostic decision support for radiologists. Based on decades of diagnostic experience, STATdx provides access to thousands of diagnoses and supporting cases, as well as a vast range of digital images. Each diagnosis includes: Key Facts, Terminology, Imaging Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Pathology, Clinical Issues, Diagnostic Checklist, and Selected References.

STATdx is accessed via username and password and registration is required for setting up access. If you are interested in using the database please contact Mary Simons or Jeremy Cullis for more information.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource, used by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care. It contains over 10,000 clinical topics in 22 specialities.

Mobile Access for Macquarie Users

Currently registered Macquarie students and faculty can access the UpToDate mobile app free of charge using the follow steps:

  1. Login to UpToDate via MultiSearch using a laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click “Logi In / Register” on the top right of the UpToDate search page.
  3. Create an account
  4. Go to Google Play, the App Store, or the Amazon App Store and download the app for your device.
  5. Enter your UpToDate account username and password
  6. IMPORTANT: You will need to sign in via the Macquarie University network or Hospital intranet every 90 days to maintain access.

Dynamed

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care.

Updated daily from over 500 journals, and with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and a synthesis of the best available evidence

"VisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. It provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. As the clinician enters actual patient findings, VisualDx creates a differential diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. VisualDx is a multi-use tool designed for day-to-day clinical diagnosis, emergency preparedness, and medical education. As a visual clinical decision support tool, VisualDx uses specific patient data to develop a visual differential diagnosis. The clinician enters patient symptoms and other clinical findings, such as lesion type, body location, medical history, medications, etc. With each entry, the system builds and refines the differential, never eliminating a diagnostic possibility but ranking each one by relevance to the patient findings. VisualDx displays images and key clinical information on all relevant diagnoses for a quick side-by-side comparison to the patient."--The publisher.

Loading ...

Search Google Scholar @MQ

Search PubMed @ Macquarie

PubMed Logo
Search PubMed:   

Useful Subject Guides

These guides contain subject specific resources.