Database tutorials
This is the "Databases" page of the "Macquarie University Cancer Program LibGuide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Macquarie University Cancer Program LibGuide  

This LibGuide provides links to key Library services and resources for the multidisciplinary teams in each oncology discipline.
Last Updated: May 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/cancer-program Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Databases

  • Medline
    The Ovid MEDLINE database contains citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 journals in the medical sciences, published in the United States and in 70 other countries. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it contains over 19 million citations. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Coverage (including OLDMEDLINE) extends from 1946.
  • Embase
    Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental health; veterinary science, dentistry and nursing. Coverage extends from 1974 to the present.
  • PubMed
    PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.), provides access to over 19 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s plus additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • Cochrane Library
    Available via the Wiley Interscience interface, the Cochrane library consistes of 7 databases, all of which are concerned with different aspects of research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is full text, while most of the other databases are registers and indexes consisting mainly of citations and detailed abstracts.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. Over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from more than 4,000 international publishers are covered. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records from 5 patent offices. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
  • Web of Science
    Web of Science consists of 3 citation databases containing information from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address.
  • ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect is a database that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasises the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences.
  • DynaMed
    DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Updated daily from over 500 journals, and with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and a synthesis of the best available evidence.
  • ClinicalKey
    Bibliographic and full-text database backed by Elsevier. Clinicalkey University Essentials delivers a large selection of Elsevier's medical and surgical content which includes journals, reference books, videos and images. It also provides access to practice guidelines, selected third-party journals and contents sources. Local Australian content and MEDLINE abstracts are also included.
  • Anatomy.TV

Remote Access to Macquarie Databases

Most Library databases and e-resources are available off-campus for Macquarie University staff and students. 

Students

Use your Student ID Number and your OneID Password.

Staff
Your username is MQ followed by your staff number (eg: mq20071234); your password is  your OneID password; sometimes it is the last 8-digits of the barcode on your campus card if you are not Macquarie University staff.
If you are having problems logging in or other IT difficulties please contact 

Need Further Help?

Having problems with Databases or need further assistance. Please do not hesitate to contact your Clinical Librarians:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip