Last Updated: Feb 12, 2017
Any research database with citation counts can create research metrics data for journals or individual researchers. When using this data it is important to remember that:
- No source is comprehensive
- Databases only provide analysis of the journals that are indexed in their database
- Many journals do not have an impact factor
- Citation counts are primarily for journal articles and the journals in which they are published.
- Journal impact factors can be manipulated
- English language publications may be favoured
The ERA Journal List is compiled in consultation with discipline experts, academic peak bodies and members of the public. It identifies the journals that are eligible for institutions' ERA submissions. Each journal is assigned one or more Field of Research code identifying discipline coverage. The Journal List is no longer ranked
Following the ARC's review of ERA 2012 and consultation with the higher education sector the ARC has made several changes to ERA 2015 from ERA 2012, in order to improve the ERA process. For more information, go to ERA FAQs.
Higher Education Research Data Collection (HERDC ) is an annual government reporting requirement, comprising research data (income and publications) from all Australian tertiary institutions.
HERDC requires that journal articles be peer reviewed. For more information about HERDC please contact the Research Office.
The following Library resource can assist you in establishing if a journal is peer reviewed:
- Australian Business Deans Council Journal Quality List 2016
Leading up to the next full review of the ABDC Journal Quality List 2013 (anticipated to begin in the second half of 2017), the ABDC authorised a 2016 interim review that had a very narrow focus built around four tightly defined scenarios:
** Inclusion of new business-relevant journals – journals newly created since 1 January 2011;
** Removal of very low quality journals – e.g. deemed to be “predatory open access” journals;
** Switching FoR assignment of a journal; or
** Correction of factual errors in the ABDC database – e.g. incorrect journal title, incorrect web address.
- Scimago Journal and Country Rankings
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.
- Journal Metrics
This is a freely accessible tool that provides the SNIP and SJR values for journals indexed by Scopus.
- Science Watch
Tracks high impact journals, institutions, researchers and individual papers. Regularly features rankings of high impact journals in different fields.
- Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) Journal Indicators
Provides Raw Impact per Publication (RAW) and Self Citation values as well as SNIP for those scientific journals available through Scopus. See the methodology
page of the CWTS website for an explanation of the values used.
- Anne Wil-Harzing Journal Quality List
The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard.
- Australian Political Studies Association
The Australian Political Studies Association's (APSA) preferred journal rankings for the research community in Political Science and International Relations in Australia.