This is the "Overview" page of the "HRM107 Introduction to Human Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HRM107 Introduction to Human Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/hrm107 Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this guide

This guide provides links to resources you will need to complete this unit. It includes compulsory readings, suggested readings, texts, databases as well as information about referencing and how to locate other materials related to your studies.

See the Management guide to find out about other useful resources.

We also have other information on:

Finding recommended readings

Researching your assignment

 

 

 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the information desk in the Library
 

Student off campus access and help

When accessing library resources off campus you will be asked to login. Your login consists of the following details.

Username: Student ID Number

Password: OneID Password

If you are having problems logging in or experiencing other IT difficulties please contact Student IT Help

Databases to get you started

Research Databases provide you with electronic access to journal articles, newspaper articles, statistical publications, encyclopaedias, legal material and reports.

Research Databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The databases below have full text academic journal articles relating to business, finance, economics and management.


For more information see how to search a database. 

  • Business Source Premier
    Business source premier provides access to more than 3,600 full text scholarly business publications, including nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies. Information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and marketing is available.
  • Emerald Management
    Emerald Management contains journals covering all aspects of management including accounting, finance, strategy, human resources, marketing and operations.
  • ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect is a database that contains the full text of Elsevier books, journals and reference works and also includes citations and abstracts of other journals. Subject coverage emphasises the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, business, management, social sciences and psychology.
 

Report Writing

Learning and Teaching at MQ have a guide on iLearn on how to write a Professional and technical report, which can be accessed here.

You can also access guides on Business Report writing from other universities such as:-

University of Wollongong

University of NSW

Victoria University (Wellington)

If you have any questions about report writing you can contact Learning Skills.

 

Group Work

Group work develops a range of skills that are highly valued by employers: communication, teamwork and interpersonal skills. It also teaches you the basics of project management. However, students often have mixed feelings about being asked to work in a group. Group work offers a lot of potential benefits, but it can also present quite a few challenges! Most negative group work experiences are caused by differences in:

  • communication styles
  • work styles
  • expectations within the group. 

Studywise provides quite a few resources aimed at helping students to work better in groups. Click on the Studywise link  and enter your OneID and password to be taken to these resources.

.

 

Infowise

Want to learn more about database searching, referencing and other research related skills? Infowise can help.

InfoWise is the library’s online research and information literacy support tool. Students and staff can self enrol and get support anywhere anytime.

InfoWise aims to build and improve students research skills. Especially useful for undergraduates, international students and anyone new to Macquarie University, the content covers:

  • how to use MultiSearch
  • understanding peer review
  • how to decode citations
  • identifying key search terms
  • advanced search techniques
  • and more
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip