A one-stop-shop of Lab Safety resources found in the Library and online. Keep yourself safe by accessing books, databases, e-journals, websites, short YouTube videos & more which cover Lab Safety.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017
This Guide, a collaboration between the Faculty of Science Work Health & Safety (WH&S) and the Library, will direct you to a wide range of sources available on lab safety, held by the Library or on reputable websites.
Specific lab safety information is not provided here. Instead reference should be made to guidelines, policies and procedures provided by your Department.
Search citations and abstracts in the fields of agricultural biotechnology and biosafety. Coverage: Some full-text available via Article Linker.
- Australian Standards (SAI Global)
Get full text access for all current Australian standards, joint ISO/Australian standards, joint NZ/Australian standards, current Draft Australian standards, & amendments to Australian standards. Search abstracts of international & other country standards.
- Chemical hazards in industry
Search scientific and trade literature on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in the chemical and related industries.
- Health & safety science abstracts (Online)
Covers environmental health, occupational safety, pesticides, toxicology, emergency management, security and accidents.
Coverage: 1981+ Some full-text via Article Linker.
- Laboratory hazards bulletin
Search citations & abstracts for key information on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields including R&D, analytical & hospital laboratories, scanned from the primary scientific and trade literature worldwide.
A cross-searchable collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, including the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB).
- Toxicology abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issue.
Coverage: 1981 + Some full-text via Article Linker
- Risk abstracts
Covers risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management.
Coverage: 1990+ Some full text via Article Linker.
Use the link to access the manual and browse through sections including emergency procedures, laboratory design, radiation safety and legal requirements.
Jo Hardy (firstname.lastname@example.org), Fiona Jones (email@example.com), Carmi Cronje (firstname.lastname@example.org)
We are your Research Librarians for the Faculty of Science & Engineering.
Please email us with your query. If you include all of us in the one email the first available librarian will get back to you.