This is the "Home" page of the "Law - Public International" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law - Public International  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/law-public-international Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Legal Databases

Thomson Reuters Westlaw 

Full text access to case law, statutes, adminstrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc, from Hong Kong, the US, the UK, Canada & EU.

Lexis

Full text primary and secondary legal materials in all areas of law. The main focus is US law, but there is also substantial international coverage.

HeinOnline

Full text legal journals, reviews, books, cases, statutes, etc. predominantly from the US.

WorldLII

A gateway to legislation, cases, treaties, journals and other material from dozens of international jurisdictions.

Find these and more: Law Research databases.

 

Abbreviations

If the title of the law report or journal is abbreviated, you will need to find the full title before searching MultiSearch.

Useful legal abbreviation indexes include:

International Law Timeline

Oxford University Press have created a history of international law, running from 1494 to the present. 

 

About this guide

Welcome to the Public International Law LibGuide! This guide provides you with a starting point for your research. It has information on

  • Finding Public International Law cases
  • Finding Public International Law legal commentary
  • Finding Treaties
  • Finding recommended readings
  • Researching your assignment
  • Referencing and citation assistance

Just click on the tabs at the top of the guide to view each page.

 

What is public international law?

Public international law is 'The legal system governing the relationships between countries; more modernly, the law of international relations, embracing not only countries but also such participants as international organizations and individuals (such as those who invoke their human rights or commit war crimes)'.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw, Black's Law Dictionary

 

New books!

Cover Art
The Function of Public International Law - Jan Anne Vos
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789067048606
Publication Date: 2013-03-05

Cover Art
Reflections on Global Law - Shavana Musa (Editor); Eefje de Volder (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789004260399
Publication Date: 2013-11-25

Cover Art
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law - James Crawford
Call Number: KZ3225.B76 A37 2012
ISBN: 9780199654178
Publication Date: 2012-11-25

 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the information desk in the Library
Research Librarians provide research consultations for Honours, Postgraduate and HDR students 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip