1) Define your topic2) Think about your topic3) Find background info4) Prepare to research5) Find books & articles6) Write your assignment
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Marine Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marine Science   Tags: marine biology, marine careers advice, marine science  

A one-stop-shop of recommended databases, e-journals, eBooks, & other online resources & services for finding scholarly literature for your assignments & research.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/marine_sciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Harvard referencing for Biology at Macquarie University

 

Featured free apps

Marine Biologist - host Melody Young meets with marine biologist Andrea Cannon and joins her in her work to save the Kemp-Ridley sea turtle
Deep Sea ID - a field guide interface to the World Register of Deep-Sea Species (WoRDSS)
Link to Google play Get Marine Biologist on Windows Phone View in iTunes
iNaturalist app - record & share your observations from the natural world Google Earth app
View iNaturalist in iTunesGet iNaturalist from Google play View in iTunesLink to Google play

More in Web Gems!

 

Recommended eReference

Recommended readings

Your lecturer may have suggested a few!

  1. Go to MultiSearch - Unit Readings tab.

  2. Search by unit code e.g. GEOS126.

  3. Access any recommended articles, chapters, books, past exams etc.
 

Library news & videos

Facebook logo
Twitter logo YouTube logo

Popular databases for articles

Advances in Marine Biology - accessed in ScienceDirect

  • ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection
    Part of the ProQuest SciTech Collection, find aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures & tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
  • Annual Reviews
    Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews, with broadest coverage in the biological & physical sciences.
    Coverage: Full-text access for subscribed journals.
  • REEF (Informit)
    Indexes articles from published & unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Covers coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, tourism, marine archaeology, history & more.
    Coverage: 1982 +
  • Royal Society Journals Package S
    Covers the broad spectrum of the life sciences, physical & cross-disciplinary sciences.
    Coverage: Selective full-text.
  • Scopus  
      
    Search the largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature.
    Coverage: References: 1996+ Abstracts go back further. Some full-text via Article Linker.
  • ScienceDirect
    Leading full-text scientific database, offering more than 11 million journal articles / chapters, covering the life, medical, technical, & physical sciences.
    Coverage: Full-text for subscribed journals.
  • Web of Science (WOS)  
      
    Search across the world's leading citation databases in scientific research, including BIOSIS Citation Index & Web of Science Core Collection.
    Coverage: Some full-text.
  • GoogleScholar@MQ  
      
    Connect the results to the full-text! If we have the full-text, you can link to it:
    Settings > 'Library Links' (left hand column) > Search for Macquarie University Library.
  • More databases...  
      
 

Find that article

Example: You want:

Barry, K. L. & S. M. Wilder. 2013. Macronutrient intake affects reproduction of a predatory insect. Oikos 122:1058-1064.

  1. Go to Multisearch.
     
  2. Search for the article. Use inverted commas to keep the title together i.e. "Macronutrient intake affects reproduction of a predatory insect".
     
  3. Link to the article, or find it in our print collection*.

No full-text? Postgrad + can request on Document Supply.

 

 

MultiSearch


?

Register your discipline to improve results!

Sign in > MyLibrary > Personal Settings >  Personalize Your Results -  Edit > Ok

 

Carmi Cronje

Carmi Cronje

carmi.cronje@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 6519

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Fiona Jones

Fiona Jones

fiona.jones@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 4362

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Jo Hardy

Jo Hardy

jo.hardy@mq.edu.au

(02) 9850 7535

Monday - Friday

Biological Sciences
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Chiropractic
Computing
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Statistics

 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip