This subject guide will provide you with starting points for finding information on physiotherapy.
Last Updated: May 10, 2017
- Medline via Ovid
The Ovid MEDLINE database contains citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 journals in the medical sciences, published in the United States and in 70 other countries. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it contains over 19 million citations. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Coverage (including OLDMEDLINE) extends from 1946.
- Embase via Ovid
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental hea
- CINAHL Complete via Ebsco
CINAHL Database provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health discipline
- SPORTDiscus with full text via Ebsco
This database provides access to literature on: sports, biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, and more.
- PEDro: The physiotherapy evidence database.
access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- The Cochrane Library
Available via the Wiley Interscience interface, the Cochrane library consistes of 7 databases, all of which are concerned with different aspects of research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is full text, while most of the other databases are registers and indexes consisting mainly of citations and detailed abstracts.
- AMED via Ovid
Main subject areas covered are: professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, speech and language therapy and podiatry; complementary medicine; and palliative care
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. Over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from more than 4,000 international publishers are covered. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records from 5 patent offices. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
- Web of Science
Web of Science consists of 7 citation databases (Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index, Arts & humanities citation index, Conference proceedings citation index - science, Conference proceedings citation index - social science & humanities, Book citation index - science, Book citation index - social sciences & humanities) containing information from thousands of scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover.
Use a search strategy to find information more effectively and efficiently by:
AND, OR and NOT are known as Boolean operators.
- AND (find all these words) - E.G. physiotherapy AND "back pain"
- OR (find any of these words) - E.G. physiotherapy OR "physical therapy"
- NOT (do not include results with this word)
Knowing when and how to use Boolean operators effectively can greatly improve search results.
View this movie from the University of Auckland on how to use boolean operators
When modifying keywords, consider using:
Phrase searching involves placing double quotation marks ("__") around two or more words to create a search term.
This technique narrows the search to retrieve only those results in which the exact phrase appears.
Proximity operators enable you to define how closely you want your search terms to be found in relation to one another using a number or symbol.
circumstances /s mitigating will find the terms circumstances and mitigating within the same sentence
market /5 share will find market within 5 words of share
filing pre/5 bankrupt! the word filing must precede bankrupt by no more than 5 words
Note the number 5 can be replaced with any number
The type of proximity operators vary from database to database. Check the database help if you are unsure.
Truncation is a searching technique used in databases in which a word ending is replaced by a symbol.
The most commonly used truncation symbol is the asterisk (*). Check the database help page if you have problems.
Example: the truncated word, child*, will search for results containing child, children, children's etc.
Wildcards are symbols used in database searches to represent a letter or letters within a word to be able to search different forms or spelling simultaneously. The types of wildcards can differ from database to database. Check the database help page for more details.
NOTE: Multisearch supports the use of ? to find one character only example: w?man to find woman or women
Anatomy,TV includes interactive 3D anatomy models, MRI sections, slides, movies, and clinical text. Videos and images can be embedded in presentations or patient education materials