Skip to main content

History - Ancient

Collections in the Library

Browse books on the shelves:

CJ35-CJ36                  Numismatic--Coins--Collected works

CJ201-CJ277              Numismatic--Coins--Ancient

CJ301-CJ763              Coins--Ancient--Greek

CJ801-CJ1147            Coins--Ancient--Rome

CJ1201-CJ1291          Coins--Ancient--Byzantine

CJ5581-CJ5690          Ancient medals and medallions

HC31-HC39                 Ancient economic history and conditions

HG237                         Money--Ancient--History

HG1336                       Money--Egypt--History

Reference materials:

Key journals:

Databases:

  • Brill's New Pauly - an encyclopedia covering the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to Late Antiquity including information on persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, literature, technical terms, ideas and concepts.
  • JSTOR - provides full text access to back issues and front list of core scholarly journals as well as access to ebooks. It has 78 of the main journals in classical studies.
  • L'année philologique - is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
  • The encyclopedia of ancient history - is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. 

Australian Centre for Ancient Numismatic Studies (ACANS)

Student resources:

An introduction to ancient numismatics - an invaluable source for the study of Greek and Roman coins.

Ancient coins collections for research and teaching:

  • ACANS collection
  • Gale collection
  • Hansen collection

Exhibitions:

  • The Coinage of Ephesus
  • The Coinage of Julius Caesar

Other teaching, learning and research collections:

All books and journals held in ACANS are catalogued and searchable in MultiSearch.

Streaming videos

Origins: The Journey of Humankind: Power of Money - Series 1 - Ep 3

Travel back in time across the entire sweep of human history on a quest to discover the meaning of money and how what we value has changed as civilisation has evolved.

Money Art

Guided by historians, art collectors, economists and artists, with contributions from economist, Jacques Attali, and performance artist, Marina Abramovich, we travel through history, through the art movements right up to the present.