This guide is designed to help you make the most of the Library's resources for your assignments and research.
The Study & Library Support tab on the left will help you with the research and writing process and points you to lots of useful resources.
The topic tabs on the left have information on broader Anthropology themes. They will help you find resources in areas such as medical anthropology, religion and anthropology, ethnographic research, and much more!
Annual ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Full text retrieval is available for all of the articles from volume 1 of all titles. Broadest coverage is in the biological and physical sciences, with the social and behavioural sciences also represented
Anthropology collectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Anthropology collection of Alexander Street Press offers comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. Content is presented on a multimedia platform that reflects the integrated methods of field research, through linking and cross-searchability of text, audiovisual and archival primary sources. Our resources work in tandem to bring the fieldwork process to life by juxtaposing original fieldwork with subsequent published ethnographies, as well as follow up studies and visual ethnographies that span a century.
Cambridge CompanionsThis link opens in a new windowGo to the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics or the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture collection to browse for relevant titles.
Humanities & Social Sciences CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Humanities & social sciences collection provides access to content from a range of peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing. Subject covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
Informit Core ; With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together from other databases on the Informit platform, the Indigenous collection is a searchable database, with content on both historical and topical issues within indigenous studies. The multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post) colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
Ruth Fulton Benedict PapersThis link opens in a new windowThe Ruth Benedict Papers (held at the Vassar College Archive, to be open access): Approximately 8,000 pages from the Benedict archive will be made open access and include notes from various field expeditions, including trips with the Pima, Serrano and Zuni throughout the 1930s.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage is from 1975. Some full text is available through linking to subscribed journals.