Skip to main content

Finance

News databases

MQ Library subscribes to a number of News/ Newspaper databases. These databses are useful for finding up to the minute information about companies, markets and economic conditions. 

Here are some of the most useful comprehensive News/Newspaper databases we subscribe to

Journal article databases

Research Databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The databases below have full text academic journal articles relating to business, finance, economics and management. For more information see how to search a database. 

Key Journals

There are many journals containing papers you will find useful for your studies in Finance. Below is a select list of journals in the subject area (which is by no means comprehensive).

Find highly ranked journals, grouped by FoR (Field of Research) in the:

Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) Journal Quality List 2019

or the ERA 2018 list.

For hints and tips on how to find journals visit our Journals page on the Mutisearch guide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. 

Click the Google Scholar @MQ link on the MQ Library homepage to access Google Scholar 

On the Google Scholar Home page, click on the Menu icon menu located in the far left corner to open the Advanced Search box.

Think about phrases and words relating to your search which will provide results that are relevant. You will probably have to try a variety of different combinations of key words and/or phrases.

Results are ordered by relevance.By accessing Google Scholar through the Macquarie Library website you will see a link for articles we have access to. Click on Find it@MQ to be taken back to the Macquarie webpage and a link to the full text of the article.

Google Scholar does not identify peer reviewed/refereed journal articles with the results it provides. You need to check using Ulrichsweb global serials directory to see if an item is refereed/peer reviewed.

Newspapers and online media

Newspapers and online news sites provide critical commentary on all aspects of the Australian Business and Economy. 

(These sources are also available through the Factiva Database)

Free web news sources

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field. These academics or experts may recommend that the paper be accepted as it stands, or that specific revisions be made, or that the paper be rejected for publication. This process of refereeing is known as peer review.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed.

You can check if an article is from a peer reviewed journal using Ulrichsweb global serials directory Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/ refereed.

Other sources such as Multisearch/Business source premier allow you to search for peer reviewed journal articles however they are not 100% correct.

You should always use Ulrichs to check a journal's peer reviewed status as it is the most reliable source for this information.

Using Ulrichsweb global serials directory

  1. Choose the Databases option from MultiSearch.
  2. Type the name of the database Ulrich's in the Simple Search box and click Search
  3. Use the links under View It to access the database.

Refereed items are marked with an icon  which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.