Skip to main content

Psychology

Assignment Process

StudyWISE: Start Task

Think about your task: Why are you being asked to write an assignment on this topic?

  • Is the assignment topic controversial?
  • Is the assignment topic complicated? What makes it complicated?
  • Are there opposing points of view about the topic?

Once you have a good understanding of what the assignment question is about, ask yourself:

  • What do you already know about the topic? 
  • Are there parts of the topic that you need to learn about? 
  • Do you need to understand the topic better before you can determine your own viewpoint?

Tip!

You might think differently about your topic once you have started researching it – this is normal! If necessary, you can redefine your topic as you go.

Critical Thinking

Study Skills - How to Think Critically

BBC Learning English

StudyWISE: Prepare & Collect

Peer-reviewed Journals

Scholarly Research

Vanessa Slagle, Memoirs of a Modern Librarian

StudyWISE: Search & Evaluate

Search: Define Your Topic! Take some time to understand your assignment question.

It can be helpful to highlight the keywords in the question and to think about the wider concepts that are relevant to the topic. These keywords and concepts will help you search for information.

Assignment question example: Discuss factors that influence the relationship between food intake and children's behaviour.

Concept 1

Concept 2

Concept 3

Food

Children

Behaviour

Eating

Infants

Behavior (note US spelling)

Diet

Adolescents

Hyperactivity

Sugar

Girls OR Boys Anxiety

Build Your Search Strategy

Use a search strategy to find information more effectively and efficiently by:

Combining keywords

AND, OR and NOT are known as Boolean operators.

AND (find all these words) - eg. physiotherapy AND "back pain"

OR (find any of these words) - eg. physiotherapy OR "physical therapy"

NOT (do not include results with this word)

Knowing when and how to use Boolean operators effectively can greatly improve search results.

View the movie from Sarah Clark on how to use boolean operators when searching.

Modifying keywords

When modifying keywords, consider using:

  • Phrase searching

Phrase searching involves placing double quotation marks ("__") around two or more words to create a search term.

This technique narrows the search to retrieve only those results in which the exact phrase appears eg. "physical therapy"

  • Proximity operators

Proximity operators enable you to define how closely you want your search terms to be found in relation to one another using a number or symbol eg.

circumstances /s mitigating will find the terms circumstances and mitigating within the same sentence

market /5 share will find market within 5 words of share

filing pre/5 bankrupt the word filing must precede bankrupt by no more than 5 words

Note: the number 5 can be replaced with any number

The type of proximity operators vary from database to database. Check the database help if you are unsure.

  • Truncation

Truncation is a searching technique used in databases in which a word ending is replaced by a symbol.

The most commonly used truncation symbol is the asterisk (*). Check the database help page if you have problems

eg. the truncated word, child*, will search for results containing child, children, children's etc.

  • Wildcards

Wildcards are symbols used in database searches to represent a letter or letters within a word to be able to search different forms or spelling simultaneously. The types of wildcards can differ from database to database. Check the database help page for more details.

Note: MultiSearch supports the use of ? to find one character only, for example: wom?n to find woman or women

StudyWISE: Develop & Plan

Interpreting Research Findings

Understanding Research Articles

 

Understanding Research Data

Essay Writing Resources:

StudyWISE: Write Your Paper

Undergraduate Reports

Reference and Cite Effectively and Correctly

Edit and Proofread

Assignment Resources

Unit Readings

Your iLearn unit page will have direct access to your reading list in Leganto. Look for the block on the right-hand side of the page called ‘Unit Readings - Leganto’. Click on the purple 'Unit Readings' link and your reading list will open in a new window.

You may see other links to your reading list elsewhere on the page but you must click on this main link at least once, in order to be recognised as a student enrolled in this unit.

Databases?

Databases are collections of resources in a variety of formats including journals, newspapers, print and ebook publications. The databases listed here will allow you to discover reliable sources of scholarly information.

Key Databases for Psychology:

Find Books:

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias are examples of reference sources.

You can use Dictionaries to find definitions.

You can use Encylopaedias to find background information. Articles from specialised subject encyclopaedias are authoritative and often substantial.

You may wish to search these general Reference Research Databases

Scholarly vs. Popular

This short video from Peabody Library discusses the difference between scholarly and popular journals.

Online Research Tips

By Sarah Clark. Creative Commons Attribution Licence (reuse allowed)