Provides access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource. Volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross searchable database which provides access to scholarly books published by Oxford University Press, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Macquarie University staff and students currently have full text access to some of the titles in the Classical studies, History, Law, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Philosophy and Political science subject modules. Book and chapter abstracts for all titles in all subject modules are free for all users.
This fulltext database offers approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The five sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
This database focuses on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Sourced from over a hundred libraries the collection includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps and statistics.
Date range: 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries Geographical focus: London
Colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials. Ephemera and other literature relating to entertainment and pleasure in London, including women, gender and prostitution.
Date range: 18th-19th Centuries Geographical focus:France A digital version of the Archives parlementaires, a 19th century collection of primary sources on the revolution, as well as around 14,000 images. Texts are French language.
This collection provides intensive area coverage for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database provides unusual historical depth for Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in full text.
This journal seeks to publish original articles on the history of Russia from different perspectives: intellectual, economic and military history, domestic, social and class relations, relations with non-Russian peoples, nutrition and health.
Date range: 11th to 19th Centuries Geographical focus: Britain Includes primary and secondary sources relating to British History, including maps, state papers, English Heritage's survey of London, letters and diaries. Run by the Institute of Historical Research.