Date range: 19th Century Geographical focus: US
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs of persons somehow involved in the American Civil War.
Date range: 1606-1822 Geographical focus: US, Britain
This collection encompasses all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is useful for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
This collection contains more than 22,000 legal works on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926, including; casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters and speeches.
Date range: 1950 to 1975 Geographical focus: US, Britain "Topics include changing lifestyles, student protests, civil rights, consumerism, nuclear disarmament, and the Vietnam War. The database contains original archival material, including colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. "
Date range: 1968 to 2002 Geographical focus: US, Middle East and Asia. Contains 1,509 formerly secret documents. This collection features records from the White House, National Security Council, State Department, Defense Department, Justice Department, and other federal agencies as well as detailed FBI field reporting, CIA analyses, and military studies.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: US
A searchable database containing many of the declassified United States government documents that led to policy decisions. Macquarie has access to the collections on Afghanistan, China, El Salvador: war peace and human rights, Iran, the Philippines, South Africa, Terrorism, United States, North and South Korea.
This collection provides intensive area coverage for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database provides unusual historical depth for Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in full text.
Date range: 18th-21st Centuries Geographical focus: Australia The online collections of the Australian War Memorial include documents, art, photographs and video, relating to the Australian armed forces.
Date range: 1945-1991 Geographical focus: International A timeline of Cold War history and a digital collection of archival material relating to the Cold War, from a number of different countries. English language.
Oxford University Press have created a history of international law, running from 1494 to the present. This concise timeline maps the broad history of public international law with particular attention paid to the signing of major treaties, the foundation of fundamental institutions, the birth of major figures in international law and milestones in the development of some of the field’s best-known doctrines.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: North America, Vietnam "Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download."
This journal publishes scholarly articles on the causes, experience and impact of war in all periods of history. The journal's main emphasis is on the broader relationships between warfare and society. The scope of articles published since May 1983 ranges in time from Ancient Greece to the 20th century from the USSR and Europe to North America, Asia, Africa, New Zealand and Australia.