The Encyclopaedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic world from religion and history to politics and culture. It includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities.
Date range: 1606-1822 Geographical focus: US, Britain
This collection encompasses all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is useful for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Date range: 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries Geographical focus: London
Colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials. Ephemera and other literature relating to entertainment and pleasure in London, including women, gender and prostitution.
Date range: 1950 to 1975 Geographical focus: US, Britain "Topics include changing lifestyles, student protests, civil rights, consumerism, nuclear disarmament, and the Vietnam War. The database contains original archival material, including colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. "
Date range: 16th Century to 20th Century Geographical range: Britain, US "Database of English language letters, diaries, autobiographies, oral histories, and other personal narratives providing insight into history dating from the 1550s to the present. Documents included in the index and full-text collections are indexed for subjects, historical events, personal events, places, and dates."
Date range: 1880s-21st Century Geographical focus: US, other Olympic countries
Digital access to scholarly journals and magazines relating to sports, as well as Olympic conference proceedings and official Olympic reports.