Subject and Research Guides: Neurosurgery: Evidence Based Medicine

Introduction to Evidence Based Medicine

How to read a paper / Trish Greenhalgh. 4th ed 2010
Ebook version available from Library catalogue. Click on link (Electronic version available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice / editors Gordon Guyatt, et al. 2015
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions
Systematic reviews in health care a practical guide / Paul Glasziou ... [et al.] 2001.
Research methods in health: foundations for evidence-based practice
Evidence-based medicine : how to practice and teach EBM
Sharon E. Straus ... [et al.]. 4th ed. Elsevier/Churchill Livingstone, 2011. Call Number: R723 .7 .E954 2011.
This is a recommended title for the RACS examinations. It is a key text for the study of evidence-based medicine and critical appraisal. Topics include - how to ask answerable clinical questions, how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence, how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance, and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences.
Rational Diagnosis and Treatment: Evidence-based Clinical Decision-Making
Gøtzsche. c2007, 4th ed.
Achieving evidence-based practice : a handbook for practitioners /
edited by Susan Hamer, Gill Collinson ; foreword by J.A. Muir Gray. 2nd ed. 2005.

Tips for Searching the Medical Literature - PowerPoint Slides

Useful Websites

The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is a full text database which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments.

Cochrane Neurological Field
The Cochrane Neurological Field works with neurological Cochrane Review Groups to improve their productivity and communicate the results of their research to a worldwide neurological community.
CMAJ Evidence based medicine series
Canadian Medical Association Journal series of articles on evidence-based medicine.
EBM Tools - Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
This section contains a selection of useful tools to help you practice and teach EBM.
EBM Toolkit - University of Alberta
A collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making.
Turning Research Into Practice - TRIP
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
EvidenceUpdates from the BMJ Evidence Centre.
Register to access current best evidence from research, tailored to your own interests.
Best Evidence Topics (BETS)
Developed by the Emergency Department at Manchester Royal Infirmary. They provide brief reviews of the best evidence in a way that meets the specific needs of Emergency Medicine.
MEDI832: Evidence-Based Practice
This LibGuide provides resources for the postgraduate unit MEDI832
Epistemonikos
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence. It is now maintained by Epistemonikos foundation, a not for profit organization based in Santiago, Chile.