Skip to main content

Neurology

Keeping Current - Introduction

Keep up to date with the latest information and publishing in your research field with Saved Search Alerts, Table of Contents (ToC), Citation Alerts (Author & Article), and RSS Feeds.

  • Saved Search Alerts let you save a favourite search and have the results emailed to you regularly.
  • ToC Alerts email you the Table of Contents of journals each time a new issue is published.
  • Citation Alerts  notifiy you by e-mail whenever a document or author has been cited by a new article.
  • RSS feeds provide a simple method for staying informed about news and information updates on a website.

Saved Search Alerts

Database search alert services allow you to save search strategies and receive automatic alerts of new results matching your strategy. You must have a Personal Account in each database where you have Saved Search Alerts.

  • Ovid AutoAlerts: Save a search strategy that will be run automatically each time the database is updated and the resulting citations will be emailed to you. 
  • PubMed Search Alerts: Register for MyNCBI using the link in the upper right corner or in the blue column at the left of the PubMed screen.  MyNCBI has an option to automatically update and email search results on a schedule of your choice. 
  • Scopus Search Alerts: Notify you by e-mail of new documents that match the search in your alert. You can create a Search Alert from the Search History page, the Search Results page, and the My Profile page. 
  • Web of Science Alerts: Allows you to set up an automatic alert to email results to you weekly or monthly. For more information use Help within Web of Science and see under Save settings and How to Create a Citation Alert  A video is also available on the WOS Training YouTube channel.
  • Other databases: Many other search services and databases offer alerts and the ability to save search strategies.

Journal Table of Contents Alerts

You can set up an alert so that when a new issue of a journal is published you will receive an email or an updated RSS feed. Sign up to receive the tables of contents (TOCS) of your favorite journals. You must have a Personal Account in each database where you have TOC Alerts.

  • Individual Journal Table of Contents: To set up alerts for your favorite journal, go to the online edition and follow the directions provided under headings such as "alerts" or "e-mail table of contents."  You can find journals in MultiSearch by selecting the link Journals A-Z and searching for the journal title.
  • OvidSP's eTOC feature sends an email alert whenever the table of contents for a journal is updated. You may sign up to receive an eTOC alert for any journal in the eTOC Subscriptions list whether your site subscribes to the journal or not. 
  • Current Contents Connect  TOC Alerts: To set up an alert use Current Contents Connect database Sign In (or register for an account) and then choose My Journal List from the top menu and add preferred journal titles.
  • PubMed's MyNCBI: PubMed's MyNCBI feature can be used to set up email alerts for articles in your favorite journals indexed in PubMed and Medline.  The email alert received will contain a link to PubMed search results.
  • JournalTocs is a new scholarly journal tables of contents (TOCs) service. It’s free, its easy to use, and it provides access to the most recent tables of contents of over 11,000 scholarly journals from more than 400 publishers.
  • Journal publishers will also usually offer Table of Contents services via email or RSS from their webpages. The following publishers' websites enable you to set up TOCs services after you login in with a personal account: Informa healthcare, Wiley online library and SpringerLink contemporary. These are available from MultiSearch by selecting the Databases tab and searching using the database name.

Citation Alerts (Author and Article)

  • Web of Science Citation Alerts:  Notify you by e-mail whenever an article you select is cited by a new article. Perform your search in Web of Science then click the Create Citation Alert button in the record display. You will be prompted to login or register at Web of Knowledge. The record will be added to your My Cited Articles List in Web of Knowledge. The alert is active for one year.
  • Scopus Author Citation Alerts: Notify you by e-mail when an author or group of matched authors is cited on Scopus. An Author Citation Alert can be created from an Author Details page and from author Cited By search results.
  • Google Scholar: To create an alert for a query, carry out a search on Google Scholar as usual. Once you have your results click on the envelope icon which appears at the top of your search results then click "Create Alert".