Skip to main content

Cognitive Science

Assignment Resources

What is MultiSearch?

MultiSearch is a search and discovery tool found on the Library's homepage. It provides one-stop searching across the Library's resources, including books, articles, databases, audio visual media, unit readings etc.

Unit Readings

Your iLearn unit page will have direct access to your reading list in Leganto. Look for the block on the right-hand side of the page called ‘Unit Readings - Leganto’. Click on the purple 'Unit Readings' link and your reading list will open in a new window.

You may see other links to your reading list elsewhere on the page but you must click on this main link at least once, in order to be recognised as a student enrolled in this unit.

Databases?

Databases are collections of resources in a variety of formats including journals, newspapers, print and ebook publications. The databases listed here will allow you to discover reliable sources of scholarly information.

Key Databases for Cognitive Science:

Find Theses & Dissertations:

Grey literature is the term used to describe research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form.

Tests & measures are an important part of Cognitive Science and Psychology.

Interlibrary Loans Service

Macquarie University staff and postgraduate students are eligible to request interlibrary loans (which are used if the Library does not hold a resource).

Help with writing your assignment

Scholarly vs. Popular

This short video from Peabody Library discusses the difference between scholarly and popular journals.

How do I find Peer-reviewed Journals?

Peer-reviewed icon

1. Use Database facilities

Some databases have a facility to limit your search results to "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journal.

 2. Use Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

Refereed items are marked with an icon which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

3. Review the journal's homepage

A journal's homepage has the scope or aims of the journal, its editorial board or instructions to authors that may indicate whether articles are reviewed before they are printed.