Available via the Wiley Interscience interface, the Cochrane library consistes of 7 databases, all of which are concerned with different aspects of research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is full text, while most of the other databases are registers and indexes consisting mainly of citations and detailed abstracts.
(Centre for Reviews & Dissemination) Funded by NIHR and comprising the DARE, NHS EED and HTA databases, the CRD databases give access to quality assessed systematic reviews, economic evaluations, summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments, summaries of all Cochrane reviews and protocols and summaries of Campbell reviews
(Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre) Part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. The Centre carries out systematic reviews and develops review methods in social science and public policy.
OTSeeker contains citations and abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions from over 1,000 different journals. It is designed to help occupational therapists use research evidence about occupational therapy interventions to inform their practice.
Contains studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). The studies are rated for their methodological quality.
(Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions & Treatment Efficacy) Evidence-based practice initiative between the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia, the database provides open access to a catalogue of best interventions in Speech Pathology practice.
Search filters for PubMed, Ovid Medline, Ovid PsycINFO, and Ebsco Cinahl, for methodological studies, qualitative research, program evaluation, and other public health research types. Filters are un-validated.
Filters to identify meta-analyses and controlled and/or longitudinal studies for ProQuest's ABI/Inform, EBSCO's Business Source Global, Premier & Elite. From the Welcome to the Center for Evidence-Based Management.
The Library has access to MEDLINE via four platforms: Ovid, Web of Science, ProQuest and EBSCOhost. Access via Ovid MEDLINE is recommended due to: superior search functionality; quick access to ebooks, multimedia and evidence-based practice tools; links to the full text of many articles are available on other platforms. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It contains citations and author abstracts for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present with selected coverage prior to that date.
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental health; veterinary science, dentistry and nursing. Coverage extends from 1974 to the present.
Cochrane consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials, or CENTRAL), the Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), the Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature complete)
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with over 18,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further.
Consists of 5 citation databases (Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index, Arts & humanities citation index, Conference proceedings citation index - science, Conference proceedings citation index - social science & humanities) containing information from thousands of scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all areas of research.
AMED is a bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. The database includes references sourced from over 550 journals, predominantly European in scope. The main subject areas covered are: professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, speech and language therapy and podiatry; complementary medicine; and palliative care. Coverage extends from 1985.