Subject and Research Guides: Postgrad Research Support: Resources

Books to help you with research and writing

Study Skills for International Postgraduates by Martin Davies
Call Number: LB2395 .D29 2011
ISBN: 9781403995803
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
A comprehensive book of study skills tips including topics ranging from life as a postgraduate student to time management to citations.
How to Write a Better Thesis by David Evans; Justin Zobel; Paul Gruba
Call Number: LB2369 .E94 2011
ISBN: 9780522861266
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Having supervised countless postgraduate students and seen all the pitfalls, David Evans is convinced that clear and logical structure is the key to a good thesis. He and Paul Gruba give concrete examples of common structural problems, and offer numerous devices, tricks and tests by which to avoid them.
Doing Your Dissertation with Microsoft Word by Jacques Raubenheimer
Call Number: Z52.5.M52 R38 2013
ISBN: 9780868868141
Publication Date: 2012
This book introduces techniques focusing on how to improve the quality of the submitted dissertation by avoiding the mistakes students commonly make as a result of their lack of knowledge about the features offered by Microsoft Word.
Doctorates Downunder by Carey Denholm (Editor); Terry Evans (Editor); Peter Doherty (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB2371.6.A8 D63 2012
ISBN: 9781742860244
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
With 30 chapters written by experienced academics, recent graduates and current candidates from across Australia and New Zealand, Doctorates Downunder is designed to prepare research candidates for the journey ahead, and guide them throughout their doctoral program.

Sage Connection

Wiley Exchanges

Elsevier Connect

Find theses & dissertations

How to find a thesis
MultiSearch Advanced
Specifically search for hard-copy and electronic theses in Macquarie Library.
more...less...
Restrict your search by selecting 'Thesis' in the 'Material Type' drop-down menu.
Macquarie University ResearchOnline
Institutional digital repository designed to capture, store, index, preserve, provide access to and disseminate the intellectual and research output of Macquarie staff, students and affiliates. Material in the repository includes journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, theses, working papers, discussion papers, images, datasets and multimedia

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to now, with over a million full text dissertations available in PDF.
Coverage: Citations only 1637-1860 (mainly in Latin, French & German)
→ Selected full-text for 1861 +
→ Some full-text for 1961-1996
→ Mainly full-text for 1997+
You can try to order paper copies of 1861 + theses from Doc Supply. Contact Doc Supply about dissertations covering 1637-1860.

TROVE
Trove provides a single point of access to Australia resources: theses, books, music scores and sound recordings, videos, DVDs, and includes access to Pictures Australia, full text Australian newspapers 1803-1954, manuscripts, maps and archived websites. Include Thesis in the keyword search box. You can type in keywords from author, title, and/or institution.
Electronic Theses & Dissertations Gateway (NDLTD)
Link to search engines & databases for finding open-access electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
more...less...
Provided by The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Postgrad Research Support

Books to help you with research and writing

Sage Connection

Wiley Exchanges

Elsevier Connect

Find theses & dissertations

Suggest a purchase

Apps for better writing

The Thesis Whisperer

The Research Whisperer

The Scholarly Kitchen