Skip to main content

Troubleshooting Eresource Problems

Database access and login problems

Are you accessing the database from a bookmark or favourites link?

Are you being asked to login to a database or resource?

Do you get an error message when you try to enter your login details?

Are you getting a Time Out error message (error 504 or 408) or is the page taking a very long time when trying to load?

Are you accessing materials from your workplace?

Do you have cookies enabled in your web browser?

Are you trying to access resources on a mobile device?

Still experiencing problems?

Issue Possible Solutions
Are you accessing the database from a bookmark or favourites link?
  1. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly. This ensures you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
  2. The database URL may have changed. Please try accessing the database via MultiSearch.
     
  3. If you are accessing the site from off campus via a link eg from a course website, search engine or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - 

http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.

Are you being asked to login to a database or resource?
  1. The database URL may have changed. Please try accessing the database via MultiSearch.
     
  2. If you are being asked to enter a password for a specific database (ie not a Macquarie University login page) the database may require a separate password. Check the details tab on the MultiSearch record to see if you are required to contact library staff for access.
     
  3. If you are off campus you should also check the following:
    • You may not have logged in via the Library website. Go to MultiSearch to access the database or use the Journals A-Z page to look for a specific resource.
       
    • If you are accessing the site via a link eg from a course website, search engine or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.
       
    • Can you access the following url: http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/menu? If not there may be a problem with our authentication server. Please report the problem to the Library.
       
  4. The Library may not have access to the resource. Check MultiSearch for the name of the database or name of the publication to see if the Library has access.

Do you get an error message when you try to enter your login details?

Check your login is working correctly. Can you login to other databases and/or university sites (eg iLearn)? If not, please go to the OneID site or contact Campus IT to ensure your login is working.

If you are able to login to university sites but are not able to access databases, please contact the Library.

If the error is "Your account is limited to 1 session. This limit has been exceeded." Please check you are not signed in already in a different browser or device. You are only allowed to be signed in on one browser on one â€‹device at a time. If you believe you are only signed in at one location please contact Campus IT.

Are you getting a Time Out error message (error 504 or 408) or is the page taking a very long time when trying to load?

Try refreshing the page to see if it will load more quickly.

Test another webpage to see if it will load more quickly. If it is also slow there may be an issue with your internet connection. If it loads quickly, there may be access issues with the database.

Close your web browser and re-load the page ie close your Internet Explorer program and load it again.

Sometimes there are problems at the database provider's end. Contact us to see if this is the case after you have tried the steps above.

Are you accessing library resources from your workplace? Check the security settings in your web browser.

Some organisations have strict network security settings which cannot be modified.

Contact your system administrator or network officer to determine if these can be changed.

Do you have cookies enabled in your web browser? Cookies must be enabled to use the Library web site. Instructions for enabling cookies are freely available on the internet.
Are you trying to access resources on a mobile device?

Databases may provide access for mobile devices in a variety of ways:

  • via a mobile website to which you are automatically redirected.
  • via a mobile interface accessed using a separate url.
  • via apps that can be downloaded from the Apple Store or Google Play.

To access a mobile database you may need to:

  • login as normal to library databases.
  • register an account to be able to use mobile versions of a database.
  • pair your device with the database by connecting to the mobile database when located on campus (limited time option, often 90 days).
Check Database help pages for information about mobile access.


Still experiencing trouble with databases?

  • Please contact us. If possible, please send an email including the steps you have followed and any error messages that are displayed, preferably with screen grabs included.