Skip to main content

Troubleshooting Eresource Problems

Problems using databases

Are you having problems viewing a database or is it not working properly?

Are you getting an error message stating the database is unavailable?

Are you having problems with the page display or functionality?

Are you getting an error message about maximum users or licences in use?

Were you asked to login on a Macquarie University Library login page?

Still having problems?

Issue Possible Solutions

Are you having problems viewing a database or is it not working properly?

  1. Try closing your web browser and re-opening it ie close your Internet Explorer program and load it again. Sometimes there are problems at the database provider end. If it is taking a while to log in close your browser, then try again. You may need to log off and try again in 5 minutes.
     
  2. Test the page using another browser eg Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Safari or Opera. Some browsers have difficulty displaying some pages or provide different functionality.
     
  3. Check the system requirements for the database. This information is usually found in the Help section of a database and includes information about supported browsers, javascript and cookie requirements, and other technical data that may apply.
     
  4. Check you are using the current version of your web browser. To find which version you are using follow these steps from the menu bar:
    • Go to the Help menu in your browser and select About (browser). This will tell you which version of the browser you are using.
    • To check if there is a more recent version of the browser, use the appropriate browser links above.
       
  5. Check the security settings in your web browser. Some of our databases require medium to low levels of security, and low levels of privacy.
    Recommended security settings for different web browser versions are freely available on the Internet.
    Note: You will need to ensure that you have a current virus scanning program loaded on your computer. If you do not have antivirus software, Sophos is provided by ITD for staff and student use on the Software Downloads page (login required).
     
  6. Cookies must be enabled to use the Library web site. Instructions for enabling cookies are freely available on the internet.
  7. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly. This ensures you are logging into the current database, not an old version.If you are using a database from your workplace, you may experience issues. Some organisations have strict network security settings which cannot be modified. Contact your system administrator or network officer to determine if these can be changed.
  8. If you are trying to access a database on a mobile device it may not display correctly. Check to see if the database has a mobile version by checking the Help pages for the database.
Are you getting an error message stating the database is unavailable?

There may be a problem at the database provider's end. Contact us to see if this is the case.

Are you having problems with the page display or functionality?

Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly, to ensure you are logging into the current database, not an old version.

You may be using outdated software. To find which version you are using go to Help on the menu bar and select About [program name]. This will tell you the version of the product.

You can download the latest software versions from the links below:

  Web browsers:                                          Other useful software:
     Internet Explorer (PC)                              Adobe Acrobat Reader (PC/ Mac/ Linux/ Android/ iOS)

     Firefox (PC/ Linux/ Android)                     QuickTime (PC/ Mac)

     Safari (Mac/ iOS)

     Google Chrome (PC/ Linux/ iOS/ Android)

     Opera (PC/ Mac/ Linux/ iOS/ Android)

Are you getting an error message about maximum users or licences in use? This database or resource may have a limit on the number of users who can use it simultaneously and we have reached the maximum number of people who can login at one time.

Check the database description to see limits on concurrent users.

You will need to try to access the database again later. If this happens continuously, please contact the Library.

 
Were you asked to login on a Macquarie University Library login page? If you did not login from a Macquarie University Library login page you may not be able to access articles or ebooks in a database.

If you are accessing the site off campus via a link eg from a course website or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.

 


Still experiencing trouble with databases?

    • Please contact us. If possible, please send an email including the steps you have followed and any error messages that are displayed, preferably with screen grabs included.