Skip to main content

Troubleshooting Eresource Problems

Problems accessing documents

Are you having problems loading PDF files?

Are you trying to access resources on a mobile device?

Does an error message appear that states all copies are currently in use?

Are you getting an error message about maximum users or licences in use?

Are you being asked to login to access an article?

Can popup windows be viewed on your computer?

Do you have RealDownload installed on your computer?

Still experiencing problems?

Issue Possible Solutions
Are you having problems loading PDF files?
  1. Check that you can open other PDF files. If you are able to open other PDF files, check whether there is any information about problems opening PDF files in the Help section for the database you are using.
     
  2. Check you have the most current version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. To find which version you are using,open Adobe Acrobat Reader and on the menu bar go to Help and select About Adobe Reader (version xx). The most current version of the software can be downloaded from the Adobe Reader website.
     
  3. Test the page using another browser eg Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Safari (Mac, iOS) or Opera. Some browsers have difficulty displaying some pages or provide different functionality.
     
  4. Try saving the file by right clicking on the link to the file and choosing Save Target As (IE) or Copy Link Location (Firefox) from the menu and then save the file to your chosen location. Then try opening the file from the location where you saved it.
     
  5. You can find further assistance with problems opening pdf files:
  6. Disable the Adobe Reader plugins in your browser using these instructions for Adobe Reader X1.
     
  7. If you are using Adobe versions 9 or X, try changing the setting in Adobe Reader so files do not open in your web browser. To do this, open Adobe Reader through Start > Programs > Adobe Reader. Then Click on Edit > Preferences. Make sure the category is Internet to the left then untick 'Display PDF' in a web browser. Click 'ok' and try accessing document again.
     
  8. If you are using a Macintosh computer, there is currently an issue with opening PDF files on a Mac using the Firefox or Safari browsers. To open a PDF file, save the file to your computer and then open it from there.
     
  9. Cookies must be enabled to open articles from most Library databases. Instructions for enabling web cookies:
  10. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly, to ensure you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
Are you trying to access resources on a mobile device?

Databases may provide access for mobile devices:

  • via a mobile website to which you are automatically redirected.
  • via a mobile interface accessed using a separate url.
  • via apps that can be downloaded from the Apple Store or Google Play.

Check if the database provides access using mobile devices by going to the database help page.

Access can be provided through a number of ways:

  • login as normal to library databases.
  • register an account to be able to use mobile versions of databases.
  • pair your device with the database by connecting to the mobile database when located on campus (limited time option, often 90 days).
Does an error message appear that states all copies are currently in use? Some ebooks and ejournals have limits on the number of users that can access that resource at any one time. This error message appears when the limit is reached.

Try to access the database again later. If this happens continuously, please contact the Library.
 

Are you getting an error message about maximum users or licences in use?

This database or resource may have a limit on the number of users who can use it simultaneously and we have reached the maximum number of people who can login at one time. Check the database description to see limits on concurrent users.

Try to access the database again later. If this happens continuously, please contact the Library.
 

Are you being asked to login to access an article?

Check the Journals A-Z page to see if Macquarie University Library has access to the journal and if it is available for the date you require.

If you are accessing the site off campus via a link - eg from a course website or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.
 

Can popup windows be viewed on your computer?

Some anti-virus software and/or toolbars block popup windows from appearing which can block articles that open in a new window. Instructions on how to disable popup blockers.
 

Do you have RealDownload installed on your computer?

If you are having difficulty downloading PDF articles a possible cause is the installation of RealDownload on your computer. Disable RealDownload and try again.
 

 


Still experiencing trouble with databases?

  • Please contact us. If possible, please send an email including the steps you have followed and any error messages that are displayed, preferably with screen grabs included.