Skip to main content

MKTG1001 Marketing Fundamentals

MultiSearch

MultiSearch is a single search interface that provides access to a large majority of Library resources. It works best when you are signed in!

Journal articles can be searched by title, author or keyword. After you have run your search you can select 'peer reviewed journals' or 'articles' from the refiners in the left-hand column to narrow your results to this content type. The MultiSearch library guide provides further information on finding journal articles.

If you are trying to find a specific journal try the Journals A-Z tab available on the MultiSearch Navigation bar. This provides you with access to our full journal holdings in an alphabetically sorted list. It can be searched by title, keyword or by ISSN. For further guidance on searching for journals please see the MultiSearch library guide for searching journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Access Google Scholar via the link on the MQ Library homepage.

If you have search terms which typically appear together as a phrase, try adding inverted commas around these words in your search e.g. "market segmentation" or "conservation marketing" to help narrow to more relevant results. Use the data range filter on the left to narrow your results to particular years.

Google Scholar image showing search, Find it @ MQ and changing the date range

Look for the 'Find it @ MQ' link in your results. Click on the link to access a copy of the article in the Macquarie University Library databases.

Google Scholar does not identify peer reviewed/refereed journal articles with the results it provides. You need to check Ulrichsweb global serials directory to see if the journal the article appears in is peer reviewed/refereed.

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field. These academics or experts may recommend that the paper be accepted as it stands, or that specific revisions be made, or that the paper be rejected for publication. This process of refereeing is known as peer review.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed.

You can check if an article is from a peer reviewed journal using Ulrichsweb global serials directory Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/ refereed.

Other sources such as Multisearch/Business source premier allow you to search for peer reviewed journal articles however they are not 100% correct.

You should always use Ulrichs to check a journal's peer reviewed status as it is the most reliable source for this information.

Using Ulrichsweb global serials directory

  1. Choose the Databases option from MultiSearch.
  2. Type the name of the database Ulrich's in the Simple Search box and click Search
  3. Use the links under View It to access the database.

Refereed items are marked with an icon  which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

Suggested databases

Key Journals

Student Off Campus Access and Help

When accessing library resources off campus you will be asked to login. Your login consists of the following details:

Username: Student number

Password: OneID Password

If you are having problems logging in or experiencing other IT difficulties please contact