Skip to main content

Mendeley

Why modify?

Modify a Mendeley style if:

  • Mendeley does not have your style - first see if it's available in View > Citation Style > More Styles... > Get More Styles > Download
  • The style that Mendeley does have is a little different to the version your unit or journal requires.

Selecting the style you wish to modify

1. In the More Styles... box, select the style you wish to edit, eg American Psychological Association 6th edition. Tip: Find a style to modify that is as close to the style you need to use as possible.

2. Right-click on the style and select Edit Style

edit citation style screenshot

3. This will open the Visual CSL Editor in a web page in your browser. You may need to login to your Mendeley account if you are not already logged into Mendeley Web. Make sure to change the name of this style to something else by choosing 'Save Style As' under the Style dropdown on the top left-hand side of the screen. This is so you won't lose the original style.

save style as menu screenshot

Modify in-text citations

1. To modify your in-text citation style, first click on the Inline Citations heading on the left-hand menu. This will allow you to make global formatting changes to in-text citations only

left-hand menu screenshot   inline citation gfo

 

2. To make changes to the layout of your in-text citations, click Layout on the left-hand menu, under Inline Citations OR click on an element of the in-text citation in the Example Citations

layout menu screenshot  click name inline screenshot

 

3. From here you can make changes to the text formatting, such as bold/italics/capitalisation, or go further to set up more detailed changes such as text case, delimiters etc. There are a lot of fields for specific elements and conditional variables, and it can get quite complex, so make sure you are in the section you want to make the changes to. Tip: Keep an eye on the example citations to see if your changes are being reflected correctly.

4. Click the Style menu on the top left-hand corner and click Save Style to save your changes.

Modify bibliography

1. To modify your bibliography style, first click on the Bibliography heading on the left-hand menu. This will allow you to make global formatting changes to the bibliography only eg choose an indent or set line spacing

bibliography menu screenshot   bibliography options screenshot

 

2. To make changes to the layout of your bibliography, click Layout on the left-hand menu, under Bibliography OR click on an element of the bibliography citation in the Example Citations

layout menu screenshot   bibliography options screenshot

 

3. From here you can make changes to the text formatting, such as bold/italics/capitalisation, or go further to set up more detailed changes such as text case, delimiters etc. There are a lot of fields for specific elements and conditional variables, and it can get quite complex, so make sure you are in the section you want to make the changes to. Tip: Keep an eye on the example citations to see if your changes are being reflected correctly.

4. Click the Style menu on the top left-hand corner and click Save Style to save your changes.

Saving & using your modified style

Save your modifications by clicking the Style menu and selecting Save Style As. Choose a new style ID for your style if you have not done so already. You should get a message, highlighted in yellow, at the top of the screen that contains the URL to your new style.

To use your new style:

1. Copy the URL before you close the browser window

2. Go to View > Citation Style > More Styles... > Get More Styles in Mendeley Desktop

3. Paste the URL into the Download Style box and click Download. Your new style should be available and selected for use. It will be named with the original style name + your Mendeley user name, NOT the style ID you saved it as.

download box screenshot

new citation style screenshot

Support for the Visual CSL editor

Mendeley has a guide for using the Visual CSL editor on their website. See the link to it below for more examples of how to modify styles using the editor.

There are more advanced features, such as editing at the code level, which will not be discussed in either of our guides, but feel free to explore them if you are comfortable with your skill level.

Global formatting options

The main modifications to your style can be made by selecting Global Formatting Options from the top of the left-hand menu.

left-hand menu gfo screenshot

Here you can change:

Class: Do you want in-text or note (footnote/endnote) style in-text citations?

Name form: Set the name form as short (surname only) or long (surname with initial)

Et al use: Set the minimum number of names needed to activate et al abbreviation

Page range format: How should the page numbers display? eg 123-25; 123-25; 123-5

global formatting options screenshot

Add nodes

As well as modifying existing style elements, you can add your own.

1. Select the area you want to add a new element to, eg Global Formatting Options

2. Click the + button on the left-hand side menu to Add node

add node screenshot

3. Choose an element you want to add from the provided list

add node to global formatting options screenshot

4. Fill in the fields you require.

5. Remember to use Style > Save Style to keep your changes.