Skip to Main Content

Education

Free Scholarly Resources

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focussing on improving the quality of applications submitted.

This page has many resources including the databases listed in other tabs.

EdResearch Online is a database of over 61 000 articles from more than 500 Australian education journals. These records are from the Australian Education Index.
20 000+ articles are available for free download, and many are available for online credit card purchase and download through ACER Cunningham Library's Complete Article Service for AUD $5.50 (inc GST). Others are available for purchase directly from individual publishers.

BOLDE contains details of books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of distance and online education, from publishers in Australia and overseas. Material is drawn from the Australian Education Index, produced by Cunningham Library, with additional material sourced from a variety of international organisations and publishers. There are currently 12,705 records in the research bank.

Indigenous education research database.

From the US Dept of Education. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.

Including GreenFILE and Teacher Reference Center (please note: these are mostly indexing and abstracts only – not full text). These individual databases are also listed with links.

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching. MERLOT is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.

(Massachusetts Institute of Technology): Search for higher education class materials available free online.

Google Scholar will also link to free versions of items when available. For instance, University digital repositories will often make prepublication versions of journal articles written by members of their communities (academics, researchers, HDR Students etc) available as open access. These can often be found via Google Scholar. 
Please note: Many individual items from the databases listed in earlier tabs will also be accessible via GoogleScholar, but not necessarily all.

CORE https://core.ac.uk/ (COnnecting REpositories) is a service provided by the Knowledge Media Institute, based at The Open University, United Kingdom. The goal of the project is to aggregate all open access content distributed across different systems, such as repositories and open access journals, enrich this content using text mining and data mining, and provide free access to it through a set of services. The CORE project also aims to promote open access to scholarly outputs. CORE works closely with digital libraries and institutional repositories.

ScienceOpen is an interactive discovery environment for scholarly research across all disciplines. It is freely accessible for all and offers hosting and promotional services within the platform for publishers and institutes. The organization is based in Berlin and has a technical office in Boston. It is a member of CrossRef, ORCID, the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association, STM Association and the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Link to Open Educational Resources Guide

Libraries - Free Database Online

The National Library of Australia and State Libraries throughout Australia, also many local libraries, provide access to some databases.  You need to register/apply for a library card, but there is usually no cost to residents within each jurisdiction. All the state and national libraries will also have a lot of their unique collections digitised and available openly.