Subject and Research Guides: Archaeology: Images & Videos

Images

Ancient World Image Bank
The Ancient World Image Bank is a collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world. Beginning with the slide and digital photography collections of ISAW faculty, staff and affiliates, AWIB will expand to publish imagery donated by others as well.
Atlas database of exhibits
Atlas is a searchable database of all the works exhibited in the Louvre museum. The explanatory texts associated with museum exhibits, compiled under the authority of the museum curators, accompany the online images. New images are currently being added to the database, which is constantly updated.

Pedestal
Pedestal is Macquarie University's custom web content management system for 3D data for use in learning, teaching, research and outreach. Includes the following collections: Kira's caves, Australian History Museum, Museum of Ancient Cultures, Human Anatomy, Sites in Egypt, Geology Samples, Trilobites, Macquarie Lightstation, Skulls and Jaws, Animalia and Fossils

Google Arts & Culture - Archaeology
Explore institutional partners, exhibitions and collections.

Using images & video in your work

When adding images, videos and other content that you did not create to your presentation or assignment, it is important to make sure that you have permission to use this material.

Look for Creative Commons (CC) licenced content - content which has a CC licence may be free to download, adapt, distribute and transmit so long as you attribute or acknowledge the creator of the work. Always check the exact terms of the licence before using the content.

Here are some Creative Commons sites:

Creative Commons
Creative Commons is an international non-profit that provides free licences and tools that copyright owners can use to allow others to share, reuse and remix their material, legally.
Google Advanced Search
Wikimedia Commons
YouTube
Vimeo
Creative Commons Content Directory