Specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)Entries cover schools, theories, theorists, and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognizing the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Countering Extremism by Rohan Gunaratna; Jolene Anne R. Jerard; Salim Mohamed Nasir (Editor)This unique work is the first to address the subject of community engagement strategies in countering extremism, and explores the development and research of these strategies. In so doing it demystifies the process of community engagement, while simultaneously extolling the virtues of the ground breaking strategies to have been effectively employed in Asia, the Middle East, and the West.The book then proceeds to examine the efforts of community engagement made by several countries against their unique operational and geopolitical environments...
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Counterterrorism and Open Source Intelligence by Uffe Kock Wiil (Editor)Since the 9/11 terrorist attacks in the United States, serious concerns were raised on domestic and international security issues. Consequently, there has been considerable interest recently in technological strategies and resources to counter acts of terrorism. In this context, this book provides a state-of-the-art survey of the most recent advances in the field of counterterrorism and open source intelligence, demonstrating how various existing as well as novel tools and techniques can be applied in combating covert terrorist networks. A particular focus will be on future challenges of open source intelligence and perspectives on how to effectively operate in order to prevent terrorist activities.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Handbook of the Criminology of Terrorism by Gary LaFree; Joshua D. FreilichThe Handbook of the Criminology of Terrorism features a collection of essays that represent the most recent criminological research relating to the origins and evolution of, along with responses to, terrorism, from a criminological perspective. Offers an authoritative overview of the latest criminological research into the causes of and responses to terrorism in today & rsquo;s world Covers broad themes that include terrorism & rsquo;s origins, theories, methodologies, types, relationship to other forms of crime, terrorism and the criminal justice system, ways to counter terrorism, and more Features original contributions from a group of international experts in the field Provides unique insights into the field through an exclusive focus on criminological conceptual frameworks and empirical studies that engage terrorism and responses to it.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Other Side of Resilience to Terrorism by Barbara LuciniThis timely treatise introduces an innovative prevention/preparedness model for cities to address and counter terrorist threats and events. It offers theoretical background, mixed-method research, and tools for creating a resilience-based response to terrorism, as opposed to the security-based frameworks commonly in use worldwide. The extended example of Milan as a “resilient-healthy” city pinpoints sociological, political, and economic factors that contribute to terror risk, and outlines how law enforcement and emergency management professionals can adopt more proactive measures.
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Gus Martin (Editor)Explores the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay are covered.
Explore a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
This database covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, and well as from conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Date range: 1968 to 2002 Geographical focus: US, Middle East and Asia. Contains 1,509 formerly secret documents. This collection features records from the White House, National Security Council, State Department, Defense Department, Justice Department, and other federal agencies as well as detailed FBI field reporting, CIA analyses, and military studies.
Web of Science consists of 3 citation databases containing information from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.