Skip to main content

Language - Modern

Art and calligraphy

Being: Chinese - Ep 1 Of 4

A series of four half hour programmes comprising ten location-based sections, each containing insights into the life and culture of the country as perceived by children. Each programme links closely with other subject areas and includes key language relevant to 8 to 11-year-old school children. The commentary for each programme is in English but all the actuality for each programme is in the language of each country. Shot entirely on location in Beijing, this programme follows a group of Chinese children through their daily lives. It includes sequences about a trip to the Great Wall of China; a day in the life of a Chinese school; life in a typical Chinese home; a family meal and a shopping trip. It highlights key language points and has many touch points with other areas of the school curriculum. 

Classical Chinese

Reference database 

Siku Quanshu (Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature) was compiled from 1773 to 1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3,460 titles and 36,000 volumes. It is divided into four categories, i.e., Classics, History, Philosophy and Belles-letters. They are important works to know the five thousand years of Chinese civilization.
Accessing Siku Quanshu (1 user):  Only work from an ON-campus IP address.
TO ACCESS WITHIN THE LIBRARY: ASK AT THE INFORMATION DESK, LEVEL 2 FOR LOGIN DETAILS.
TO ACCESS ELSEWHERE ON CAMPUS: DOWNLOAD CLIENT SOFTWARE AT http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download.

 

Dictionaries

《纽带》:摹写汉学生命轨迹

Eight-episode documentary culture "ties": Sinology depict life trajectory

niudai

Contemporary Chinese

Literature and translation

Literature

Translation

Finding Chinese materials in MultiSearch

Three input methods:

Method 1:  Search by Chinese characters (self-evident), e.g., 历史, 電影

Note:  To invoke the CJK characters input modes when using PCs in the Library:

  • You must install appropriate Chinese fonts and input software
  • Press Alt + shift keys simultaneously OR
  • Click the EN icon (or CH icon) on the Windows’ right-hand bottom

Method 2:  Search by Pinyin transliteration (tricky – rules governing syllable spaces), e.g., zhongguo dian ying

  • Using Pinyin will retrieve records for both simplified and traditional characters.
  • Therefore, users are encouraged to use Pinyin romanisation for CJK catalogue searching in order to maximise the search results.

Method 3:  Search by English keywords

  • Using English-language keywords will lead you to Subject Headings which will help you find suitable resources, e.g., Chinese culture

Key Chinese journal database

For Chinese-language articles, China Academic Journals (CAJ) is a key source.

CAJ provides full-text access to hundreds of core journals published in Mainland China in the fields of literature, history and philosophy (1951 onward, some journals date back to the first issue).  It supports full-text searching or searching in specific fields such as author, title, keyword, abstract, journal name, and reference.

Character input:  Chinese simplified
View full text articles in PDF format:  The latest version of Acrobat Reader (with Chinese simplified font pack) is required.

Primary resources

Databases

  • Chinese Naturalisation Database 1857-1887 (New South Wales) - The Chinese Naturalisation Database is based on the Naturalisation records and the Colonial Secretary's Correspondence held by the State Records NSW. The Database lists the names of those Chinese who were naturalised prior to the NSW Chinese Restriction Act of 1888.
  • The First Historical Archives of China      中国第一历史档案馆​ - 中国第一历史档案馆保管的明清历史档案约1000余万件(册),其中明代档案3000多件,其余绝大多数为清代档案。馆藏档案中,汉文档案约占80%,满文档案约占20%,蒙文档案5万多件(册),还有少量其他民族文字的档案以及英、法、德、俄、日等外国文字的档案。
  • The Second Historical Archives of China 中国第二历史档案馆​ - 中国第二历史档案馆是集中典藏中华民国时期(1912--1949)历届中央政府及直属机构档案的中央级国家档案馆,馆藏总量为225万余卷,约 4500万件。

Newspapers 

  • Chinese News on Factiva - Factiva provides fulltext access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key Web sites, including many Australasian sources.

  • Early Chinese Newspapers on Trove - These newspapers are valuable historical sources for the research in Chinese-Australian history:  The Chinese AdvertiserThe Chinese Australian HeraldThe Chinese Times and Tung Wah News.

  • Hong Kong Free Press - Hong Kong Free Press is a non-profit, English-language news source seeking to unite critical voices on local and national affairs.
  • Old HK Newspapers - The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.