Subject and Research Guides: Environmental Sciences: Standards, Patents & Datasets

Standards, Patents & Datasets

Australian Standards (Intertek Inform/ SAI Global) This link opens in a new window
Get full text access for all current Australian standards, joint ISO/Australian standards, joint NZ/Australian standards, current Draft Australian standards, & amendments to Australian standards. Search abstracts of international & other country standards.

National Environmental Standards from Australian Government Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

European Patent Office
The European Patent Office (EPO) examines European patent applications, enabling inventors, researchers and companies from around the world to obtain protection for their inventions in up to 44 countries through a centralised and uniform procedure that requires just one application.
Google Patents
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.
IP Australia - Patents
The search system for Australian patents. Records prior to 1920 can only be found by application number and/or full specifications.
Coverage: Full-text 1904+
The Lens
SourceIP Australia
Patents filed by Australian public research organisations.
USPTO
United States Patent and Trademark Office.
World Intellectual Property (WIPO)
Search international and national patent collections.

Data repositories are useful for finding data to reuse for research.

Many research organisations, government agencies and cultural institutions have data repositories. Some repositories are subject specific and some are multidisciplinary.

A data portal allows you to find datasets from across many different repositories via a searchable interface.

Research Data Australia This link opens in a new window
Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. We do not store the data itself here but provide descriptions of, and links to, the data from our data publishing partners.
Research Data Australia caters specifically for researchers but also has broader relevance to others including policy makers, educators and business people.

Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any licence conditions).

Subject-specific repositories for biological sciences data.

Atlas of Living Australia This link opens in a new window
The Atlas of Living Australia is a collaborative, national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources and makes it freely available and usable online.
Australian Supersite Network This link opens in a new window
The Australian SuperSite Network (ASN) is a national network of multidisciplinary ecosystem observatories. The ASN includes ten SuperSites that each represent a significant Australian biome. The network covers all States and Territories and spans a wide range of environmental conditions.
Stemformatics This link opens in a new window
The Stemformatics portal provides access to a series of public experiments describing mouse and human stem cells and how they differentiate to become mature cells, tissues and organs. Data from leading stem cell laboratories has been made available in a format that is easy to search, easy to visualise and easy to export. These normalised public datasets are uploaded to the Stemformatics portal. They include probe mappings, raw data mappings, and annotations of samples.

NSW Government SEED sharing environmental data
SEED is the NSW Government’s central resource for Sharing and Enabling Environmental Data. It was developed for the NSW community in a collaborative effort between government agencies to provide an accessible and reliable platform for environmental data.
US Environmental Protection Agency Datasets
OECD Environmental Data Library

Accessing Standards - Intertek Inform/ SAI Global

Intertek Inform (formerly SAI Global) is the main standards database used by Macquarie University. This provides full-text access to Australian standards. International standards can be searched for, but not accessed in full text.

The Library has a single user subscription to this product and access is restricted to Macquarie staff and students. Please make sure to sign out when you have finished your research.

Searching Intertek Inform

You can search for standards by number, document title, or keyword.

In the search results, choose the standard you need by clicking on its number.

If the standard is available, you can view online or download it. Note that any download will be restricted to the first device on which you open it. See the licence conditions here for more information.

If the standard is not available a 'Request Access' or 'Request Quote' button will be shown. Use this button if you would like the Library to investigate options for accessing the standard.

Note that if you are looking for an ISO standard, there is sometimes an equivalent AS version which you can access, and this will be shown in the ISO record as below.

If you need any help searching for, or accessing, standards, please contact your Faculty or Clinical Librarian.