Subject and Research Guides: Engineering: Technical Data & Reports

Material Properties and More

Knovel
An engineering decision-support solution, Knovel features unique tables and databases, covering everything from mechanical to chemical properties data, and interactive equation solvers. Specialized data search and taxonomies make it easy to discover answers to technical questions.

Thermopedia
An online encyclopaedia of heat and mass transfer, fluid flow and thermodynamics. Includes a thermal-fluids taxonomy semantic structure that is visualized in a map and interlinks articles by scientific co-relation, then leading outside to other references, journals, books and databases.
Optics Imagebank
Optics ImageBank contains over 200,000 images derived from OSA's core journals. Images include charts, graphs, micrographs, illustrations, and pictures. Contents may be browsed or searched by keywords.
NIST Data Gateway
Searchable access to NIST databases containing scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
National Pollutant Inventory
The NPI contains data on 93 substances that have been identified as important due to their possible effect on human health and the environment. The data comes from facilities like mines, power stations and factories, and from other sources such as households and transport.
Sutructurae - International Database and Gallery of Structures
Discover the diversity of civil, structural and bridge engineering – more than 81 000 structures. Documents aspects of structures including materials, dimensions and construction methods.

Research Datasets

Data repositories are useful for finding data to reuse for research.

Many research organisations, government agencies and cultural institutions have data repositories. Some repositories are subject specific and some are multidisciplinary.

MIT Decode Lab
A Curated List of Engineering Design Datasets by the DeCoDE lab at MIT.
Center for Engineering Strong Motion Data
Administered by the US Geological Survey, the CESMD provides raw and processed strong-motion data for earthquake engineering applications.
USGS Data Catalogue
US Geological Survey Datasets including atmosphere and climate, coasts, earth characteristics, geographic maps, life sciences, natural hazards, geologic processes and more.

Research Data Australia
Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions.

Mendeley Datasets
The Latest Mendeley Datasets. Mendeley Data Repository is free-to-use and open access.
Google Dataset Search
Search google with filters for datasets

Government and Agency Technical Reports

Government and Agency Reports

Search these databases for technical reports.

National Technical Reports Library
Indexes and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. HINTS: Search in the left hand menu. If you have trouble accessing the Full Text, try using Firefox.
International Nuclear Information System
Covers all areas of IAEA activity including nuclear engineering, safety, non-proliferation, and applications, nuclear physics and chemistry, legal, environmental and economic aspects. Includes reports, conferences, patents and theses.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library
A central source of U.S. Government-sponsored research and development reports.
Engineers Australia Publication Library
The publication library includes copies of Engineers Australia's technical journals, guidelines and practice notices, discussion papers, event materials and corporate publications. NOTE: To access the journals, search for the journal title in MultiSearch.
Transport Research International Documentation
An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Database of 3 million+ research results including journal articles, data, patents, technical reports.