Skip to main content

Cardiovascular Medicine

Welcome

body parts image

"BodyParts3D, © The Database Center for Life Science licensed under CC Attribution-Share Alike 2.1 Japan."

Welcome to the Cardiovascular Medicine Research Guide! This Guide provides you with links to websites and electronic resources that may be helpful to your clinical work and research in cardiovascular health at Macquarie Univerity Hospital.

Featured Resources

AccessCardiology is a resource of specialized content for cardiology fellows & physicians to learn, refine, and enhance clinical reasoning skills. It includes texts such as Hurst's The Heart, guidelines from the ACC and AHA, drug information, patient education materials, and multimedia,

CardioSource Plus, an online cardiovascular information and educational resource including clinical images, self-assessment educational materials, Heart Songs, ACC clinical guidelines and quality standards, and news and expert commentaries.

CardioSource Plus includes access to EchoSAP 7. 

New England Journal of Medicine Journal Watch

NEJM JournalWatch provides access to important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties including cardiology, emergency medicine, gastroenterology, general medicine, HIV/AIDS, hospital medicine, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and hematology, pediatrics and adolescent medicine, psychiatry, and women's health.

 

Therapeutic Guidelines Complete logo

eTG Complete provides searchable peer-reviewed clinical disease-oriented guidelines. The topics include Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Emergency medicine, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Oral and dental, Palliative care, Psychotropic, Respiratory and Rheumatology.

It includes access to an app for your mobile device.

StatDx

STATdx is an online reference tool providing diagnostic decision support for radiologists. Based on decades of diagnostic experience, STATdx provides access to thousands of diagnoses and supporting cases, as well as a vast range of digital images. Each diagnosis includes: Key Facts, Terminology, Imaging Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Pathology, Clinical Issues, Diagnostic Checklist, and Selected References.

STATdx is accessed via username and password and registration is required for setting up access. If you are interested in using the database please contact Mary Simons or Jeremy Cullis for more information.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource, used by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care. It contains over 10,000 clinical topics in 22 specialities.

Mobile Access for Macquarie Users

Currently registered Macquarie students and faculty can access the UpToDate mobile app free of charge using the follow steps:

  1. Login to UpToDate via MultiSearch using a laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click “Logi In / Register” on the top right of the UpToDate search page.
  3. Create an account
  4. Go to Google Play, the App Store, or the Amazon App Store and download the app for your device.
  5. Enter your UpToDate account username and password
  6. IMPORTANT: You will need to sign in via the Macquarie University network or Hospital intranet every 90 days to maintain access.

DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. It provides topical information on diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and treatments summarized from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

Search Google Scholar @ Macquarie

StatDx

StatDx

STATdx is an online reference tool providing diagnostic decision support for radiologists. Based on decades of diagnostic experience, STATdx provides access to thousands of diagnoses and supporting cases, as well as a vast range of digital images. Each diagnosis includes: Key Facts, Terminology, Imaging Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Pathology, Clinical Issues, Diagnostic Checklist, and Selected References.

STATdx is accessed via username and password and registration is required for setting up access. If you are interested in using the database please contact Mary Simons or Jeremy Cullis for more information.