Access IEEE's (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published and all current IEEE standards. Coverage: Full text of IEEE content for 1988 +; Selective full-text for 1893 +
Web of Science consists of a number of citation databases, containing information from thousands of scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address. Full text is available by linking to subscribed journals. Coverage is variable according to database.
Is a database that contains the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasizes the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, humanities, social sciences and psychology. Coverage is selective full-text.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.
O'Reilly (formerly called Safari books online) is a extensive searchable library of online books and videos relating to information technology, computer science, desktop applications and business. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, etc. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books. Users also get access to exclusive O'Reilly content and as well as resources from more than 200 of the world's best publishers. Registration with a Macquarie University email address is required.
The Library regularly trials electronic resources and databases throughout the year. Please visit our Current Database Trials webpage to access the latest trials faculty have requested.
Research Librarians - Faculty of Science & Engineering
Brush up your academic skills with StudyWISE, an iLearn module. It will show you how to structure and write different types of assignments, research, plan and reference effectively, as well as many other skills to help you succeed at University.
LaTeX, usually used in conjunction with BibTeX, is a typesetting system for document preparation. It is suitable for complex mathematical formulas, chemistry, engineering, multilingual typesetting, artwork, diagrams and process or spot colour.
The University offers a range of on-campus HDR training workshops and courses including: Research Writing Courses; Writing Retreats; Oral Presentation Training; Research Methods workshops; Grant Writing, Thesis Writing & Publication seminars; and Personal & Professional Development training.