Skip to main content

Environmental Sciences

Key Environmental Sciences Resources

Keeping Current Alerts

Keep up to date with research in your field by setting up a database search alert.

Citation alerts notifiy you by e-mail whenever a document or author has been cited by a new article.

Many databases offer email alerts for newly published journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. 

Two main types of journal alerts are:

  • TOC (Table of Contents) service sends you an alert with the TOC when a new issue is published.
  • Search alerts allow you to save your search terms and sends an alert when any new article matches your terms. 

You usually need to create an account  for the database or website where you access the journal to create the alert. Most library databases provide alert services. Check database help pages for more information.

Most publishers and book sellers provide notification and recommendation services for their products and you can sign up for alerts.

The library also provides alerts for new books that have been added to the collection, which is available by RSS feed.

These sites provide information about upcoming conferences and events.

Also check relevant professional association websites for upcoming events, as these organisations often run conferences and workshops.

Does the Library have access to an article?

You can find a specific article by searching for its title in MultiSearch.


For example: 
Rampai, T., Lang, C.I. & Sigalas, I. 2013, "Investigation of MAX phase/c-BN composites", Ceramics International, vol. 39, no. 5, pp. 4739-4748.

  1. Go to Multisearch - Books, articles & more.
  2. Type the article title into the search box. Use inverted commas to keep the title together and search for it as a phrase i.e. “Investigation of MAX phase/c-BN composites”.
  3. Click Full-text available then click on the link provided to access the full text of the article.

If you can't find an article by searching for its title, try searching for the journal name instead. 

In this case search for "ceramics international". Click Online access then click on the link provided to browse through a list of issues to find your article.

If the journal is in our print collection you will need to request it from the Automated Retrieval Collection.

No full-text? Postgrad + can request from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan.

Other methods of finding research articles...

Explore Top Ranked Environmental Science Journals