The Blackwell Guide to Aesthetics is the most authoritative survey of the central issues in contemporary aesthetics available. The volume features eighteen newly commissioned papers on the evaluation of art, the interpretation of art, and many other forms of art such as literature, movies, and music.
This text explores terms that are special to and shared by the various performing arts for performers, for those who work behind the scenes and for those who want to deepen their understanding of what they see on stage.
Includes Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater. Additional full text available includes books & monographs and some scripts of plays and opera librettos.
This online service provides searchable fulltext access to the Taylor & Francis Group journals, reference works and databases. Resources are available in most subjects. Coverage varies according to source.
Full text for many title including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater. Additional full text available includes books & monographs. Some scripts of plays and opera librettos are available in full text.
This database contains streaming videos of dance productions and documentaries by some of the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Video selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Oxford music online is a database for music research, allowing cross searching of Grove music online, the Oxford dictionary of music and the Oxford companion to music.
Oxford dictionary of music -- Grove music online -- Oxford companion to music.
The Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online searchable resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.
Bloomsbury Popular Music is a cross-searchable reference library combining the full contents of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 series, the new 33 1/3 Global volumes and Bloomsbury's popular music research titles. It allows users to research cities, ‘scenes’, movements and sounds, key albums and artists in depth, and global popular genres in their social context.