Date range: 16th Century to 20th Century Geographical range: Britain, US "Database of English language letters, diaries, autobiographies, oral histories, and other personal narratives providing insight into history dating from the 1550s to the present. Documents included in the index and full-text collections are indexed for subjects, historical events, personal events, places, and dates."
This fulltext database offers approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The five sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Date range: 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries Geographical focus: London "Content includes: fast literature; street ephemera (posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides); penny fiction; cartoons; a complete collection of Tallis' Street Views; chapbooks; street cries; Swell's guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens; tourist guides and topography; and manuscripts of George Gissing."
Date range: 19th Century, early 20th Century Geographical focus: US, Britain "Features a fully searchable database of more than 22,000 legal works on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more."
Date range: 19th Century to 1930s Geographical range: Britain, US, Europe "Victorian popular culture is a database in the subject area of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth century." Material includes pamphlets, posters, postcards, photographs, books and videos. Database is divided into sections on magic and spiritualism; cicuses; music halls and theatres and early cinema.
Date range: 1950 to 1975 Geographical focus: US, Britain "Topics include changing lifestyles, student protests, civil rights, consumerism, nuclear disarmament, and the Vietnam War. The database contains original archival material, including colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. "
Date range: 11th to 19th Centuries Geographical focus: Britain Includes primary and secondary sources relating to British History, including maps, state papers, English Heritage's survey of London, letters and diaries. Run by the Institute of Historical Research.
Date range: 1674-1913 Geographical focus: Britain Contains the records of "197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court." Also includes text on the historical background to crime and justice in Britain, as well as the history of London.
Date range: 1680s-1930s Geographical focus: Britain Digitised historical British journals, covering subject areas including literature, history, science, philosophy and the arts. An NLA library card is required to access this collection (free for Australian residents).
Date range: 1920-2008 Geographical focus: Britain
"Contains nearly 90 years of research, expert analysis and commentary, subject indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs from the archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House)." An NLA library card is required to access this collection (free for Australian residents).