Date range: 19th Century Geographical focus: US
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs of persons somehow involved in the American Civil War.
Date range: 1606-1822 Geographical focus: US, Britain
This collection encompasses all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is useful for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: US A searchable database containing many of the declassified United States government documents that led to policy decisions. Macquarie Uni has access to the collections on Afghanistan, China, El Salvador: war peace and human rights, Iran, The Philippines, South Africa, Terrorism, and the United States and the two Koreas.
Date range: 19th Century, early 20th Century Geographical focus: US, Britain "Features a fully searchable database of more than 22,000 legal works on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more."
Date range: 1968 to 2002 Geographical focus: US, Middle East and Asia. Contains 1,509 formerly secret documents. This collection features records from the White House, National Security Council, State Department, Defense Department, Justice Department, and other federal agencies as well as detailed FBI field reporting, CIA analyses, and military studies.
Date range: 1950 to 1975 Geographical focus: US, Britain "Topics include changing lifestyles, student protests, civil rights, consumerism, nuclear disarmament, and the Vietnam War. The database contains original archival material, including colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. "
This website provides access to online records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
Date range: 18th-21st Centuries Geographical focus: Australia The online collections of the Australian War Memorial include documents, art, photographs and video, relating to the Australian armed forces.
Date range: 1920-2008 Geographical focus: Britain
"Contains nearly 90 years of research, expert analysis and commentary, subject indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs from the archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House)." An NLA library card is required to access this collection (free for Australian residents).
Date range: 1945-1991 Geographical focus: International A timeline of Cold War history and a digital collection of archival material relating to the Cold War, from a number of different countries. English language.
Date range: 18th-21st Centuries Geographical focus: Australia Founding documents in the creation of Australia. Can be browsed through 'themes', timelines or places. Produced by the Museum of Australian Democracy.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: North America, Vietnam "Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download."