Date range: 17th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: US
"Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published."
Date range: 1606-1822 Geographical focus: US, Britain
This collection encompasses all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is useful for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Date range: 1788-1901 Geographical focus: Australasia First person accounts of early Colonial life in Australia and New Zealand, including letters, diaries, narratives, Government documents, maps and pictures.
This fulltext database offers approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The five sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Date range: 16th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: Britain, US, Americas
Providing access to a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways these commodities have changed the world. Also includes data visualisation for commodity prices.
Date range: 19th and 20th Centuries Geographical focus: US, World Accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century... A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
Date range: 1940s-present Geographical focus: North America "The African Activist Archive Project is building an online archive of primary materials - documents, photographs, artifacts, and written and oral memories - of 50 years of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice."
Date range: c. 1820-1865 Geographical focus: US "The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files."
Date range: 1930-1979 Geographical focus: Australia Primary sources and historical material relating to movements for Indigenous civil and land rights in Australia. Includes photographs, Government documents and documents created by rights activists.
Date range: 18th-20th Centuries. Maps from 17th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: US Comprises a number of collections documenting life in the Southern states of America. Includes slave narratives, oral histories and maps, as well as material relating to culture, education and war in these states. Supported by the University of North Carolina.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: Australia "information on Black Australia's 240 year struggle for justice". Primary sources relating to Indigenous history in Australia, including film clips, newspaper cuttings and images.
Date range: 19th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: Australia
The National Archives hold a lot of relevant material for Indigenous Australia, particularly administrative records. Not all records provide access to the full item.