Date range: 19th Century Geographical focus: US "This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs of persons somehow involved in the American Civil War."
Date range: 17th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: US
"Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published."
Date range: 1606-1822 Geographical focus: US, Britain
This collection encompasses all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is useful for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Date range: 20th Century Geographical focus: US
A searchable database containing many of the declassified United States government documents that led to policy decisions. Macquarie has access to the collections on Afghanistan, China, El Salvador: war peace and human rights, Iran, the Philippines, South Africa, Terrorism, United States, North and South Korea.
Date range: 17th Century to 1960s Geographical focus: North America
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography.
Date range: 1950 to 1975 Geographical focus: US, Britain "Topics include changing lifestyles, student protests, civil rights, consumerism, nuclear disarmament, and the Vietnam War. The database contains original archival material, including colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. "
Date range: 1600-2000 Geographical focus: US "brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life."
Date range: 1968 to 2002 Geographical focus: US, Middle East and Asia. Contains 1,509 formerly secret documents. This collection features records from the White House, National Security Council, State Department, Defense Department, Justice Department, and other federal agencies as well as detailed FBI field reporting, CIA analyses, and military studies.
Date range: 1940s-present Geographical focus: North America "The African Activist Archive Project is building an online archive of primary materials - documents, photographs, artifacts, and written and oral memories - of 50 years of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice."
Date range: c. 1820-1865 Geographical focus: US "The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files."
The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together resources from around the country.
Date range: 18th-20th Centuries. Maps from 17th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: US Comprises a number of collections documenting life in the Southern states of America. Includes slave narratives, oral histories and maps, as well as material relating to culture, education and war in these states. Supported by the University of North Carolina.
Edward Sheriff Curtis published "The North American Indian" between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises 20 volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
Date range: 18th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: US A site with links to two collections of treaties between settlers and Native Americans- Indian Affairs: Law and Treaties and Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations.
The Utah American Indian Digital Archive is a gateway to the best resources regarding Utah’s Native American tribes. Including articles, books, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps.
Several institutions that have significant primary source collections on Native communities in the American Northeast have organized into a cooperative endeavor called The Indian Papers Project at Yale University.