These pages have a range of resources compiled - and some specially created - for Psychology Honours students to assist with developing searching and research skills.
Library Training Resources 2022
SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS RESOURCES FOR PSYCHOLOGY STUDENTS
Our Systematic Review LibGuide has much more comprehensive information, but these articles are recommended reading for you to gain a good understanding:
PRISMA Guidelines – Inclusion and Exclusion Criteria and Processing Results
See also Prisma Guidelines on our Systematic Review Libguide
Meline, T. (2006). Selecting studies for systemic review: inclusion and exclusion criteria. Contemporary issues in communication science and disorders, 33(Spring), 21-27.
Polanin, J. R., Pigott, T. D., Espelage, D. L., & Grotpeter, J. K. (2019). Best practice guidelines for abstract screening large‐evidence systematic reviews and meta‐analyses. Research Synthesis Methods, 10(3), 330-342
https://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/sysreviews/managingrecords
http://prisma-statement.org/PRISMAStatement/FlowDiagram
When writing up your systematic review keep in mind the specific guidelines for structuring your review. Systematic review standards are elements that should be reported in any published systematic review. Also there may be other 'Instructions to Authors' provided by the journals or organisations in which you plan to publish.
The PRISMA statement can be followed to ensure reliable coverage of the systematic review methods, results and conclusions. The PRISMA Elaboration and Explanation (E&E) document that accompanies the PRISMA statement provides instructions for each of the items on the checklist.
Specialist database for Psychology. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Our version is on the OVID platform.
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature - Comprehensive Nursing database which includes a lot of Mental Health content. Allows for Subject Heading searching. On the EBSCO platform.
Psychology and behavioral sciences collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. On the EBSCO platform
Multidisciplinary database. Includes many high impact journals. Produced by Elsevier.
Multidisciplinary database useful for a wide variety of academic areas of study. On the EBSCO platform.
Video: Searching PsycINFO on Ovid at MQ Uni (10:03)
Video: CINAHL Part 1: Search our topic "CBT for Anxiety in Children" (10:26) in the database CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature). This database is provided by EBSCO, but we have it on a special platform to allow subject heading searches.
Video: CINAHL Part 2: Refine search, Assess results and Export to EndNote (4:25)
Database Videos (produced by the vendor OVID - relevant for PsycInfo, Medline and Embase)
The following are a selection of training videos most likely to be most useful for you (though some of these are very detailed):
Saving the search history in OVID (from the University of Otago, Wellington)
It is advisable to save your search history in Medline (or PsycInfo) once you have finalised your search strategy. This will save you having to enter it again each time.
EndNote is a software program (available for Mac or PC) which assists you to manage your own library of references. You can add references by exporting from databases or manual entry and use it to organise your reading. As you write your paper you can insert in-text references which also gradually compiles your reference list. This page includes the all essential download link.
Mendeley is a research management tool that contains a combination of a desktop applications and a web importer that stores research works in any browser. It is a reference manager and academic social network that can help researchers organise their research, collaborate with other academics in their discipline online, and discover the latest research trends. Use this link to download the software and set up your account.
