Skip to main content

Sustainability

Case Law Databases - Australia

Case citators are a good starting point for case law research on sustainability law.  For more detailed information about cases and law reports, visit the Fundamentals of Legal Research LibGuide.

CaseBase is a case citator provided by LexisNexis. CaseBase searches across all material held in the Lexis Advance database to provide you with an index of cases.

The range of information provided by CaseBase includes:

  • Cases referring to this case
  • Journal articles referring to this case
  • Cases considered by this case
  • Legislation considered by this case
  • Catchwords and Digest

Worked example for citations:

Q. Find a copy of the Environment East Gippsland Inc v VicForests case [2010] VSC 335.

In the Citation search box type 2010 VSC 335 > Run search and confirm that the party name(s) and other information you have matches the result.

Note: We had the unreported citation for this case. However, by searching in CaseBase we discovered that the case has been reported in the authorised report series – Victorian Reports. The full text of the reported case is available in CaseBase.

Worked example for party name:

Q. Find the 2010 case Environment East Gippsland Inc v VicForests.

In the Case Name box type Environment East Gippsland Inc and VicForests > Run search and verify the details of the one result to make sure it is the correct case.

Worked example for searching by topic:

Q. Find cases about sustainability and conservation.

In the Catchwords/Summary search box type sustainability and conservation > Run search and view results > Select a case name to view the digest – your keywords will be highlighted.

 

FirstPoint is a case citator provided by Thomson Reuters. FirstPoint searches across all material in the Westlaw AU database to provide you with an index of cases and material related to that case.

The range of information provided by FirstPoint includes:

  • Digest (including hyperlinked subject headings)
  • Litigation history
  • Cases cited
  • Legislation judicially considered
  • Noted in journals
  • Party names

Worked example for citations:

Q. Find a copy of the Abblitt v Anti-Discrimination Commissioner case [2016] TASSC 12.

In the Citation search box type 2016 TASSC 12 > Run search and confirm that the party name(s) and other information you have matches the result.

Note: We had the unreported citation for this case. However, by searching in FirstPoint we discovered that the case has been reported in the authorised report series – Tasmanian Reports. The full text of the reported case is available in Westlaw AU.

Worked example for party name:

Q. Find the 2016 case Abblitt v Anti-Discrimination Commissioner case.

In the Case Title/Party Name box type Abblitt and Minister for the Environment > Run search and review the details of the one result to make sure it is the correct case from 2016.

Worked example for searching by topic:

Q. Find cases about gender and discrimination.

In the Free Text search box type gender and discrimination > Run search and view results > Select a case name to view the digest – your keywords will be highlighted.

Tip: Review your results to see what keywords are frequently being used for a particular topic, e.g. searching for sex and discrimination will return more results than gender and discrimination.

Note: The hyperlinked classification headings are assigned by editors who have read the case.  They are an easy way of finding other cases on your topic.

 

Jade provides access to Australian cases and tribunal decisions.

Jade allows you to search by date, keywords, topic, legislation section or court and provides functionality for sharing results, creating alerts and saving searches. All decisions are available in full-text and each one also has a citator report at the end of the decision.

The range of information provided in Jade includes:

  • Cases citing the decision
  • Cases cited by the decision
  • Legislation considered by the decision

 

Worked example for citations:

Q. Find a copy of the Aid/Watch Incorporated v Commissioner of Taxation case [2010] HCA 42.

In the Search box type 2010 HCA 42 > Run Search Now and confirm that the party name(s) and other information you have matches the result.

Note: We had the unreported citation for this case. However, by searching in Jade we discovered that the case has been reported in the authorised report series – Commonwealth Law Reports. The full text of the reported case is available in CaseBase.

Worked example for party name:

Q. Find the 2010 case Aid/Watch Incorporated v Commissioner of Taxation case.

In the Search box type Aid/Watch Incorporated and Commissioner of Taxation > Run Search Now and verify the details of the first result to make sure it is the correct case.

Worked example for searching by topic:

Q. Find cases about sustainability and poverty.

In the Search box type sustainability AND poverty > Run Search Now and view results > Select a case name to view the digest – your keywords will be highlighted.

AustLII, a joint facility of UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law, provides full text searching of publicly available Australia primary legal materials such as:

  • unreported judgements
  • legislation (including point-in-time NSW Acts)
  • treaties
  • journals and
  • law reform reports

Also available on AustLII is LawCite, a free-access case citator which contains citation records for judgments, journal articles, law reform reports and other legal materials.  Information provided by LawCite includes:

  • Cases referred to by the case
  • Cases citing the case
  • Legislation considered by the case
  • Articles that cite the case

 

Case Law Databases - International

Try visiting the following case citators as a starting point for your research on international sustainability law.

Tip: For more detailed information on international case databases, visit the Laws of Other Nations guide.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw – An international online searchable legal research database providing full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affair from Hong Kong, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and the European Union.

Q. Find international cases relating to environmental sustainability

Select Cases > Type Environmental Sustainability in the search bar > Run search and view results.

Lexis Advance US Research – A searchable database that offers full text primary and secondary legal materials in all areas of law. The main focus is United States law but there is also substantial international (including Australian) coverage.

Q. Find international cases relating to environmental sustainability

In the drop-down tab to the left of the search bar, change the country from Australia to the relevant jurisdiction, e.g. United Kingdom. Type Poverty AND Sustainability in the search bar > Run search and view results. Select the tab UK Cases to limit results to just cases.

JustisOne – A searchable, full-text legal library of cases from The Times Law Reports, Singapore Law Reports and International Law Reports, as well as articles from The Singapore Academy of Law.

AsianLII is an extensive collection of unreported judgments, legislation, treaties, journals, constitutions and law reform reports from 27 countries and territories in Asia.

EUR-Lex – Searchable free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. It includes daily editions of the Official Journal of the European Union. The website is available in the 24 official languages of the European Union. The contents of the site includes text dating back to 1951. The database is updated daily.

WorldLII – Databases of decisions of international Courts and Tribunals, databases from a number of Asian countries, and databases from South Africa. Databases of case-law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials are included.

Tip: Try searching by subject. For example,  Citizenship & Migration, Environment, Human Rights, Social Welfare and Services, Women & the Law.

Australian Reported Decisions relating to Sustainable Development Goals

Sustainability is an interdisciplinary topic with relevant decisions reported in a variety of authorised and specialist report series.

Try searching in these report series as a starting point for your research:

Australian Unreported Decisions relating to Sustainable Development Goals

The following links are to Australian courts that hear matters potentially related to Sustainable Development Goals.

General

Employment

Environment and Resources

Discrimination, Human Rights and Migration

Abbreviations

If the title of the law report or journal is abbreviated, you will need to find the full title before searching in MultiSearch.

Useful legal abbreviation indexes include:

Australian courts use a system of Medium Neutral Citation to identify judgments. Each court has an ‘identifier’ or abbreviation that is used in these citations. The following documents will help you find the full court name:

  • Medium Neutral Citations
  • Appendix B of the AGLC4 for Australian Medium Neutral Unique Court (and Tribunal) Identifiers