Many of our databases contain primary source maps within them. Below is a small selection. MultiSearch contains a full list of History databases.
British Library: Ministry of Defense mapsThis link opens in a new windowThe maps accumulated by the Ministry of Defence and selected for this cartographic survey of the long nineteenth century include maps and plans created by the most sophisticated cartographers with the greatest corporate and governmental institutional support and hand-drawn sketches rapidly drafted in secret in preparation for combat.
Empire OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis fulltext database offers approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The five sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Gale Primary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowCross-searchable gateway to: Eighteenth century collections online; Nineteenth century collections online; The making of modern law: legal treatises, 1800-1926; Crime, punishment, and popular culture 1790-1920; The Economist historical archive, 1843-2011; The Independent digital archive, 1986-2012; The Times literary supplement historical archive; The Listener historical archive, 1929-1991; Archives of sexuality and gender; The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural ExchangeThis link opens in a new windowDate range: 16th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: Britain, US, Americas
Providing access to a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways these commodities have changed the world. Also includes data visualisation for commodity prices.