Subject and Research Guides: Media & Communications: Film & Television

Databases

These tabs highlight some specific databases for you to use.

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline
sometimes cross disciplinary

Film and television literature index (EBSCO)
Journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest.
Communication and mass media complete
Citations, abstracts and some full text are available from journals, journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias and handbooks.
Bloomsbury Video Library
Content ranges from filmed performances and fiction films to documentaries and instructional videos.
kanopy
This platform provides online access to a wide range of national and international movies, documentaries and television programs in streamed format.

Academic Search Premier
Multisubject database which contains full text for over 4,450 scholarly publications including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Taylor & Francis Online
This online service provides searchable fulltext access to the Taylor & Francis Group journals, reference works and databases. Resources are available in most subjects. Coverage varies according to source.
Humanities International Complete
A database of humanities content, providing full text of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
ProQuest
Good coverage of the humanities and social sciences.

Searches could couple a specific term with one of the useful general terms. For instance:

Armstrong, Gillian AND "criticism and interpretation"

"British New Wave" AND analysis

By Director	Use Director name AND movies; achievements and awards; criticism and interpretation; cinema directors; biography; philosophy
By Genre	British new wave; sensory; poetic realism; queer; dogme; action; adventure; comedy; crime; film noir; political ; satire; French new wave
Television	television viewers; television broadcasting; mass media
Digital	video recording; DVD; digital video
Useful general terms	discourse analysis; philosophy; fads; analysis; feminist theory; criticism and interpretation

Use a search term and a general term connected with AND (in capital letters). This will produce a more refined search. For instance:

"creative process" AND storyboards

Screen production	motion pictures; storyboards; nonfiction films; film adaptations; film; genres; drama; screen production; collaboration; film studies; motion picture authorship; digital cinematography; production and direction; digital video in pictures
Screen writing	motion pictures; story boards; non fiction films; film adaptations; motion picture authorship; screenwriting; screenwriters; genres; drama; script development; collaboration; film studies
Documentary	documentary films Australia; production and direction
Australian film	Australian film television and radio school history; Australian film commission; Aboriginal Australians in motion pictures; motion picture industry Australia; indigenous film
Useful general terms	history and criticism; rhetoric and composition; technique; creative process; production studies; pedagogical approach; film theory and criticism; writing; narrative technique

Browse the Library's journal subscriptions. You can:

browse journals by subject and review tables of contents
download full articles
link to specific "shelves" of content and add journals to your personal bookshelf
be notified when new articles are published
save articles for off-line reading

Please note that not all Journals are in Browzine.