Skip to Main Content

Orthopaedics

About this guide

This Guide will help you find, select, evaluate and reference information resources for your clinical work and research 

Use the navigation tabs on the left to identify and develop your understanding of:
-Key information sources and how to access them
-Key steps in the research and referencing process

Use the quick links on the right to connect to essential Library tools and webpages, and for Study and Research Guides on related topics.

Featured Resources

UpToDate

UpToDate is the an evidence-based clinical decision support resource, used by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.It contains over 10,000 clinical topics in 22 specialities.

Mobile Access for Macquarie Users

Currently registered Macquarie students and faculty can access the UpToDate mobile app free of charge using the follow steps:

  1. Login to UpToDate via MultiSearch using a laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click “Logi In / Register” on the top right of the UpToDate search page.
  3. Create an account
  4. Go to Google Play, the App Store, or the Amazon App Store and download the app for your device.
  5. Enter your UpToDate account username and password
  6. IMPORTANT: You will need to sign in via the Macquarie University network or Hospital intranet every 90 days to maintain access.

StatDx

STATdx is an online reference tool providing diagnostic decision support for radiologists. Based on decades of diagnostic experience, STATdx provides access to thousands of diagnoses and supporting cases, as well as a vast range of digital images. Each diagnosis includes: Key Facts, Terminology, Imaging Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Pathology, Clinical Issues, Diagnostic Checklist, and Selected References.

STATdx is accessed via username and password and registration is required for setting up access. If you are interested in using the database please contact Mary Simons or Jeremy Cullis for more information.

DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. It provides topical information on diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and treatments summarized from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

AnatomyTV

Anatomy.tv includes interactive 3D anatomy models, MRI sections, slides, movies, and clinical text.  

New England Journal of Medicine Journal Watch

NEJM JournalWatch provides access to important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties including cardiology, emergency medicine, gastroenterology, general medicine, HIV/AIDS, hospital medicine, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and hematology, pediatrics and adolescent medicine, psychiatry, and women's health.

ClinicalKey Student is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess.